How a dream is ready to become true…

Ana-Maria Brinza
3 min readAug 9, 2016

--

That’s an article about dreams, these kind of dreams people have in childhood.

While being a child everyone dreams about being a famous singer, or becoming a ballerina, someone dreams about becoming a cosmonaut or pilot. I wonder that these childhood dreams are very diverse and some might be even funny. I am very curious to know what was your childhood dream and if there is someone eager to share his/her childhood dream feel free to do it, I will enjoy reading it.
I also had my ‘childhood dream’ and it seems like it will become true in less than 24 hours. That dream seemed to be so unreal years ago because of lots of reasons and it’s unbelievable that now I am so close to it.
So, my dream was to travel, to discover the world and to visit America. I was six or maybe seven years old and the whole world seemed to be so big. I had a world map and I remember my mom showed me our country -Moldova(a small country in the eastern Europe), “here it is, our home”, she said. It was so small that I could cover it with my finger.
For a while, my favorite game was “analyzing the world map”. That was the moment when I discovered America -isolated by two oceans and far, so far away… I also was a big fan of American singers, I loved American movies… all Wald Disney movies, who didn’t love them? And I think that all these little things and details build up my ‘childhood dream’.
I am almost sure I am not the only one who had that dream.

More than 10 years passed and that dream is ready to come true. It’s hard to define how did it happen but I think that an important rule to follow in order to realize your dreams is: don’t stop to dream about it, and keep in mind that ‘without believing your dreams will never come true’.

Now, my passport and plane tickets are ready, baggage is done… the new adventure is going to start soon. I am so excited and in the same time I am a bit afraid, as I don’t now exactly what is waiting for me there, what people I will meet, what are the conditions there…

I will spend 4 months in USA. I am going to study for one semester in West Virginia University in Morgantown and I think that’s the most exciting thing. It all started 8 months ago when I read an article about Global Undergraduate Exchange Program (UGRAD) and I said “let’s give it a try” and now I am one of the finalist of the program ready to begin a new adventure, to explore a new piece of land and to meet great people.

That’s just the beginning. Lots of stories will come soon, new friendships will be build and I have a feeling that there will be a lot of new dreams.

“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream” C. S. Lewis

--

--