MYTHICAL VIBES OF ATHENS

SHANEL TALARICO
Explore. Everyday.
Published in
7 min readJun 2, 2016

“What is the city but its people?”

The last sunbeams of the day kiss the marbles of the eternal Acropolis.

Choosing a travel destination is always hard. There are in the world so many places to explore and to make yours, that the choise can be even hard to explain when you say to people: “I am leaving for X-city and I will stay there for Y-days”.
It is even more difficult to define, once we come back from our journey, what really fascinated and attracted us during our time spent away from home, what actually hit our eyes and heart.

My wanderlust brought me to pick the capital city of Greece for my end of May’s trip, as I wanted to follow the roots of wise men I studied during my school years such as Heracitus, Herodotus, Pisistratos, Pericles, Homer, Socrates, Aristotle and many others, and to discover the origins of the modern western civilation and democracy set by the Greeks around the V century BC. And indeed the mission was accomplished.

There are many things we discuss with with our friends and relatives once we come back from a journey. The most common topics concern sightseeings, architecture, landscapes, food, activities, hotel,… All aspects related to how the place we have been has met our expectations and likes. The magic of a city, according to me, has a lot to do with the people we meet on our journey. It is indeed in this aspect that I found the city extremely attractive and fascinated, i.e. how people live their lives in the city, how much they contribute to give a special vibe and influence to their city life and how much they care about your personal opinion about their city. Even if we do not know anybody in the city we travel to, people seem to be the first attraction: how they behave, how they live, how and what they eat, what traditions they may have; all these points make the inhabitant of the city we visit special, as people give a place athmosphere, energy, identity and spirit.

I had the chance to meet spontaneosly several locals throughout my cityscape. People were spontaneously approaching me while I used to sit in bars in Plaka drinking coffee and writing my travel diary; some were even greeting me on the streets with a very warm “Kalimera”, some others were interested in knowing where I was from, what I was writing on my open diary, why I decided to visit their city,…

A night caption of a typical evening in Plaka.

But even before flying to Athens, I got in touch with Alexander, a very friendly Athenian guy graduated in archeology and member of an association called “This is my Athens”. The following association does not only give tips to tourists about activities to do in Athens day and night, but provides also the chance to meet local people willing to show with their own eyes the city by bringing you around for an entire day for free.

Alexander was the greatest person I met during my trip. He did not only show me the Acropolis, Plaka, the Arch of Adrian, Syntagma Square and other highlights of Athens; he did not only brush up my previous knowledges of ancient Greek history, art, philosophy and culture, but he also showed me what he likes the most of his city: the encounter between ancient and modern, between the ancient myth and the need of modernisation and creativity Athens is experiencing today. The contrast of this gathering between ancient and modern is remarkable in Athens. It would normally disturb my outward eye while looking at the landscape. On the contrary, the day I climbed Lofos Filopappou, the Hill of the Muses, I felt a shiver of inspiration and beauty pervading my chest that I had to sit on a stone to write as follows:

“… The encounter between the Ancient and the Modern makes this city epic, as if myth, philosophy, comedy and tragedies are still echoeing in a neverending ballad with people in T-shirt filming the whole play with smartphones”.

Athens is mythical. Athens is legendary in every corner you explore. Myth and legend are witnessed not only by the majestity of the Acropolis itself, but also in its every corner by temples, columns in marble, arches and statues of ancient times. These remind all travellers of the epic past of the Greek civilazation, an unforgettable wise society who gave us the seeds and branches to create a common cultural base.

But people make Athens unically magical with they our spontaneity, with their own happiness which pervades you whenever you walk, whenever you sit at a café to drink the typical “Espresso Freddo” (cold espresso with foam). Every tourist can witness such in Plaka neighbourhood, a happy island located in the heart of Athens, where serenity and love for live take over the chaotic vibes of the centre of the city. In Plaka Athenians turn Athens at its best by chilling on the stairs drinking and chatting with friends, or even with strangers as it happened to me almost everday. In Plaka, the wonder of the place may turn your Athens experience into an unforgettable experience thanks to the athmosphere people have the power to create. As William Shakespeare once wrote: “What is the city but its people?”. If thanks to people we are all able to establish a connection between the city and its inner deep soul, the answer to the following Shakespearean quote might be “nothing!”, as the magic of the place cannot be separated from the soul of its people.

Shanel Talarico.

TRAVEL TIPS FOR YOU.
THIS IS MY ATHENS. Organisation for free walking tours with local people introducing with their own personal way the vibes of their city: http://myathens.thisisathens.org/

Alexander and me during our tour.

STAY. If you are a young and easy lonely traveller like me, looking for the cheapest but best location in every town, I can recommend “Pella In Hostel” , a great place where to find other backpackers and a great place where to chill from 7pm on the roofterrace which gives you a great view on the Acropolis, especially at sunset. WiFi available. No breakfast or meals. Bed available at average price of 16,- EUR/night
https://www.facebook.com/Pella-Inn-145570978875281/

EATING AND DRINKING OUT. In Athens travellers find a huge and never ending varieties of restaurants and café offering typical amd exquisite Greek food. Here a selection of the best places I tried.

Melina Café, a café dedicated to Melina Mercouri, a world-famous Greek actress, active in the resistance movement against the military regime which ruled over Greece from 1967 until 1974. The café is situated on one of the many streets of Plaka Neighbourhood and offers a good selection of typical Greek food and beverages. Here I recommend the typical Espresso Freddo and a snack. WiFi available.
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Melina-Cafe/202235353129523?ref=ts&fref=ts

Dodos Archaias Agora, Nice restaurant located almost in the middle of a huge row of other bars and restaurants on Agiou Filippou. I went there on the first nicht in Athens with two Italin girls I met in the first evening at the hostel. Great food, Retsina wine was excellent and the waiters were all very kind, with a great sense of warm hospitality. Here you can get a good meal with wine for 15,- EUR per person. WiFi available. https://www.tripadvisor.at/Restaurant_Review-g189400-d1076890-Reviews-Diodos_Archaias_Agoras-Athens_Attica.html

Yasemi Café Bistrot. According to my personal experience, this is the place where you can enjoy the unique life of Plaka district. While spending your time at Yasemi you can decide whether to sit at the standard tables or on a pillow on the stairs, as the tradition of Plaka wants. Yasemi offers a good selection of warm and refreshing beverages, from coffees and teas to beer and Greek wine and a good choice of snacks and easy Greek specialities to bite after a long walk around the Acropolis or just around the city. In few words, the best place to experience the true chilling Greek life. WiFi available. http://www.yiasemi.gr/

Enjoying my writing and an Espresso Freddo at Yasemi.

--

--

SHANEL TALARICO
Explore. Everyday.

A young Italian flightattendant living in Vienna and trying to explore the world! Follow the journey! www.instagram.com/shan_antonovich.