VIENNE LUMIÈRE

SHANEL TALARICO
Explore. Everyday.
Published in
4 min readDec 1, 2016

Chic, fascinating, elegant, enchanting. Discover the Christmas Vienna lights.

Vienna, Am Graben.

Vienna is fascinating, we know it already. But the Christmas atmosphere delivers something even more special to this city, able to surprise the eye of a sensitive expat on a daily basis. It has been days that I have been walking along the city, looking at the windows of every shop, at the faces of people taking the typical “weekend walk” with their kids, fiancé, lover in the city, at every single corner of the city centre, where I usually walk. I saw something different. I saw a new atmosphere in the air, a new feeling inside of me. Today, when I was walking back home from Karlsplatz, I got some good “inward-eye” time to think about many things about my life, first of all the good choice of moving to Vienna. The city just inspires me, gives me what I want. I feel at ease. I feel happy and in love and I just hope I will never get tired of this stunning city.

A nice thing to do during the Christmas time in Vienna is ice-skating with friends at Rathausplatz.

Christmas is just around the corner. Do you know that Christmas song saying “It’s the most wonderful time of the year”? Well, I really think it is. Christmas has always meant a lot to me, especially since I have moved out of my family’s household. When the Christmas atmosphere comes along, I usually start missing my family, my mum, my dad. Christmas means family, gathering and sharing not a meal or gifts, but family warmth and coviviality.

Vienna conveys to me all this, although my family is far from me. Its elegance is now ten thousand times more visible than usual. The so called “Christkindlmärkte” (Christmas markets) have the power to rekindle people from the cold temperatures of the upcoming winter. People share the wintry joy and delightment by restoring themselves with a great warm mug of “Glühwein” (hot mulled wine), they laugh, take a look at the different stands suggesting christmas presents and gift ideas for Christmas. Vienna seems to have another face at this time of the year. Vienna seems to be warmer despite the temperatures; a warmth given by the cold marble enlighted by the Christmas lights.

But Christmas time, means also”Advent”. This word comes from the latin word “adventus”, actually “adventus domini”, the “coming of the Lord”, that little baby that comes among us. The third Advent Sunday is the most inspiring one: the “dominica gaudite”. Saint Paul invites us all not to fear the flood of life and encourages us to seek happiness and love. On this year’s domica gaudite I felt a high motivation to go out there and try to help people seeking and finding their own happiness. I mean… Christmas is coming and every Christmas thousands of people stay alone. Some people lost their dearest ones, many people cannot celebrate Christmas properly around a nice table, with warm food, good wine and conviviality. So, dear Christkind, may bring anything to me this year, but instead a warm and happy Christmas and life to those who have less than me.

Christmas is the time of the year when everyone should feel happy, everyone should share peace. We are experiencing hard times. So if Christmas means peace, love amd happiness, let it be Chistmas all year long.

Shanel Talarico.

--

--

SHANEL TALARICO
Explore. Everyday.

A young Italian flightattendant living in Vienna and trying to explore the world! Follow the journey! www.instagram.com/shan_antonovich.