The End of the Road

Thomas Klein
Explore Perak
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2019
One of Ipoh’s most famous murals, depicting an old man with a cup of kopi

Our group finished the museum trip first so we went to Concubine Lane earlier than the others. So, we got ourselves flavoured-ice balls! We could choose our own flavours. There are also people selling crafts and shaped cotton candy and even rainbow cheese toast!

There’s really a lot of food but there is a mural on the wall that was so nice and you could take a photo with it. The mural also had provided an object like the mural that you can use for the picture.

Before we ended our trip, we went back to the state mosque to have our zohor prayers at 4.00pm I guess. That’s late! Then we went back to our school at around 5.00pm. It’s really tiring because we have to walk so many times to go the next destination. However, it’s worth it to get this type of chance to go with my friends because I never go to museums with my family. This also gave me much information that I did not know before, like at the temple and the Hakka museum. Lastly, it’s a good experience with teachers and friends for my last year in school. This trip gave me some nice memories.

Nurul Atikah bt Mohd Syaful Izan (5Sc2)

Taylor the ETA strolls down Concubine Lane as it begins to close down

Then, we went to Concubine Lane. Today’s Concubine Lane is a very transformed one, among all the ones in Ipoh. There’s probably only one house in Concubine Lane that’s in its original state, but the rest are history.

Concubine Lane is the most vibrant on weekends holidays, many pop-up stalls gather. I bought colourful ice balls while we walked down the street as a class, they’re very good!

Finally,we left Concubine Lane at 4.45p.m. Before leaving, the Muslim students prayed at the nearby mosque. The interesting trip was finished and it was time to go back home. I learnt many things that day.

Louise Liew Ke Hui (5Sc2)

The welcoming sign at the Ipoh KTM station

At about 3.30p.m., the two groups combined again and visited Concubine Lane. There are many things on the street: clothes, caps, food. I bought 2 caps, one for myself and another for my brother. We could not stay for a long time. Then, we walked back to the bus. Before we returned to school, we passed by the Ipoh Train Station.

This trip for me was very tiring and I discovered that I walked 10000+ steps.

Ng Tuck Seng (5Sc1)

--

--

Thomas Klein
Explore Perak

Thomas is a 2019 Fulbright ETA at SMK Aminuddin Baki Chemor in Perak, Malaysia. He is a 2018 graduate of NYU Abu Dhabi.