Conference Proposal for The Journalism Education Association

As I mentioned in one of my previous blog posts, to become a good journalist or videographer you have to have an experience prior to getting into the professional world. It is not always easy because not a lot of colleges can give you an opportunity to do an internship with them or simply volunteer due to the lacking of the needed equipment.

My college experience was pretty pleasant and I got to know the things and got the skills that are necessary in the journalistic world.

Every year there are dozens of conferences held to bring up interesting and important topics but also related issues.

If I was the one to present, I would choose The Journalism Education Association and talk about the issue that I personally found interesting.

Here is my Conference Proposal.

Conference Proposal for The Journalism Education Association

Multimedia Broadcast Area

The Importance of College Sports Coverage.

Author: Anastasiia Vasileva

Note from the author: Since I am interested in Sports Journalism and I want to choose it as a future career path, I would like to talk about the importance of the college sports broadcasting and how important it is to gain the actual experience while still being in college.

Journalism as a profession is a hard one, even though a lot of people think differently about it. Becoming a journalist takes a lot of interpersonal skill and abilities to make people trust you to tell the story. Sports journalism is no different. It requires the same skills but also requires a lot of specific knowledge.

College Athletics is a whole different world than the Professional Sports. Even so it still needs to be covered by someone. Only college football gets a worthy attention. All other college sports remain uncovered. I’m mostly talking about small colleges and universities that don’t have a big name such as Stanford. College Sports Coverage is very important for those who are going into any kinds of broadcasting and journalism.

A lot of schools simply don’t have funding to have internship programs for their students. That becomes an issue. Because how would you step in the real world of journalism if you have no experience of the simple news coverage?

That is why in my presentation I want to talk about the benefits of that kind of internship programs for the students. How it helps them to get an actual experience and to get in contact with people who might be helpful in the future. It also teaches them how to behave in the professional world and help with the job searching.

--

--