Social Media Strategy

As you all already know, I am interested in the field of Broadcast Journalism the most. I would say that for my personal website I would choose couple of the most relevant social media platforms such as Twitter, YouTube and LinkedIn.

Since I am taking a lot of sports related pictures for my website and for the MGA Athletics, I think that Instagram would be the best fit for showing what I do. A lot of people would say that IG is just an app for fun, for amateur photographers, who post all kind of junk just to share with their friends. That is not correct, any kind of social media can be profitable if you know how to use it to make it benefit you. Instagram allows you to share your pictures and short videos with an enormous amount of people and if you are a professional in your sphere, other professionals will notice you and contact you. Ira Block uses Instagram to share his photos from National Geographic with the entire world and he does it very successfully.

A lot of professional journalists say that social networks help them to share their work and to engage with the audience.They tend to use such apps as Twitter, LinkedIn and so on to promote themselves. I think Twitter would be a great way to share my works with my followers. I have setup two accounts already, one is just my private account to communicate with my friends and family, and another one is my professional account where I tweet about the updates on my website and other social networks, such as About.me, LinkedIn, Flickr and so on. I believe that Twitter is a great way to promote and advertise yourself because people tend to process and interpret a shorter information better than long bulk of texts. That is why I believe that spending some time on Twitter daily is very important and can help you to attract more followers and maybe even potential employers. A lot of sports reporters use live tweeting when they cover events, this is a very easy and quick way for fans to stay updated and get the quick scores.

--

--