The importance of experience for college students

Okay. So. Most of the times when I work, I do the broadcasts of different college sports: Basketball, Football, Soccer and Baseball. Being a Digital Media Assistant means being able to do all sort of stuff when it comes to digital media. You have to be ready to jump into someone else’s position, when that person is sick and do his job. I gained my first experience in this field as a volunteer at MGA.

For example, one time I had to be a DJ at the basketball game. No one explained me anything, they just told me to sit in front of the weird looking panel with all sorts of buttons and gave me the cord to plug in the music.

I was supposed to play the music in time-outs and breaks and so on. Well, that was my first time doing that and of course I messed it up. I figured what to do immediately when I realized my mistakes.The judge yelled at me and I felt absolutely terrible and kind of shattered. Even after that happened, I still think that it was a fun but instructive experience.

That is why I think that having an actual experience in college of doing things that you want to do in the future is very important. If this happens while you are working at the real studio or something, you will probably get fired straight away. But in college you have a right to mess up, either way, how would you learn to do it right? No one starts off as a field professional. Everyone makes their mistakes and gains experience in the related field.

Another thing that I’ve learned while being an amateur videographer is that you cannot leave your camera on its own. Never. Well. Honestly? I’ve got some fun footage of my teammates that I do not regret. I was making a video for our tennis page (Check it out!) and recklessly left the camera for couple of minutes.

Warning! This video contains bad language and inappropriate gestures.

Even though it conatins profanity, this literally describes the entire tennis team.

This event taught me a good lesson. Never leave your camera anywhere.

--

--