My website proposal

We live in the age where not only a resume can represent your qualifications and experiences but also any kind of web platform. Pretty much everyone nowadays has a LinkedIn profile that could possibly replace your printed resume. But what if you are applying for a job in a specific area, such as Communications or Journalism?

Then your potential employer will need to see the examples of your work, such as written articles, including web publications, pictures you’ve taken or the video you’ve shooted and edited. That’s when having your personal website is a necessity.

I never had any experience in a website creating before. All related to it stuff was something that I would never be able to pull out without the help of others.

What do you start with when you want to build a website? Obviously, your first step is to get a domain for your website. Which means that you have to go to the certain websites such as Namecheap or GoDaddy, and purchase a domain name. Both of these websites give you solid options to purchase it for a year or several.

I used Namecheap to get my personal domain and decided to try their offer of using a website building platform called Canvas for absolutely no charge. I’ve always thought that building a website is a very complicated process and that only people who are majoring in IT can do that. No amateurs invited.

But I was so wrong. This building platform is so easy to use that I had no problem customizing my site. However, it offers very limited options for beautiful customization. I would definitely use more advanced web hosters if only I was more educated in that field.

I liked using Namecheap also for the variety of options that it gives. For example, I decided to use a costless version to build my website, but there are so much more options for building your website. Namecheap is partners with Weebly, Strikingly and many other that let you use it for free for a certain time period but also make upgrades that cost some to make your website look great.

Also here is a useful link about pros and cons of using a free platform or hosting your own blogging platform.

On my personal website I decided to put all the work that I have done in the field of Broadcast Journalism and Communications. I am also going to write about my personal experience in the world of college athletics so other athletes who visit my website can relate to my experience.

I am planning to add the content each time I am done with a certain project, including video, podcasts or photographs. Right now I am working on a short documentary film that will be done by the end of April and represent my best work.

--

--