Anxious Thoughts To Writing To Passing Years To Therapeutic Feeling

This sequence is great

Lalitha Brahma
Explore Your Magnificent Self
4 min readJan 5, 2024

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

As I settle down to write my first story/article in 2024 after 287 articles have been published, I am still staring at the screen clueless as to what I want to write! ( LOL)

A couple of years ago I would have thought the following way:

OMG, what will I write? What will people think about my writing? Should I Self-Publish or write for a Publication? What if the Publication rejects my article? So-and-so Writer writes so well and publishes regularly. I am taking so much time to write one article. So-and-so Writer has a system of purging out article after article every day. I too should do that.

Today what am I thinking?

Let me show you the contrast by copy-pasting my past and present thoughts:

Past: OMG, what will I write? What will people think about my writing?

Present thoughts: It is completely OK for anyone to think anything about my writing.

Past: Should I Self-Publish or write for a Publication?

Present Thoughts: I will first write my Draft, review it, edit and then decide about Self-Publishing Or submitting it to a Publication.

Past: What if the Publication rejects my article?

Present thoughts: It is completely OK if a Publication rejects my article. I can correct the errors, learn from them, get better, and resubmit it to the Publication and if they reject it again, I can Self-Publish it. ( YAY!)

Past: So-and-so Writer writes so well and publishes regularly. I am taking so much time to write one article. So-and-so writer has a system of purging out article after article by using a system. I too should do that.

Present thoughts: I chose to feel the feelings of an unaccomplished writer who did not write and publish regularly. I tried creating a cookie cutter-like system to batch and write several articles and schedule them to be published at regular intervals.

Guess what?

I realized I am a unique writer. The reason why I write and what I write changes for each article. Sometimes I like to write to share my personal experience doing my morning rituals. Sometimes I love to contribute to writing prompts challenged by Publishers. Sometimes I like to write about a picture I captured. Sometimes I get inspired to write more when I get rewarded monetarily due to the reader’s claps and responses.

As I end my first article in 2024, I am thankful to medium.com for helping me create a good habit of writing by pouring my thoughts and feelings into an article. To me, writing that started as a morning ritual after I turned sixty is serving as fantastic therapy by conquering and organizing my anxious fuzzy thoughts into several articles that demonstrate gratitude, compassion, Self-awareness, and Experiential wisdom.

How about you? How has writing in general benefitted you or changed your thinking, actions, and behavior?

Shout Out to Harsh Darji for giving a treat to my eyes through his brilliant seemingly simple Visuals! Here is the article that I recommend reading:

10 Powerful Visuals You Need To See Before You Enter 2024

Dr. Roopleen thank you for educating me on personal development through several articles. Here below is one such article worth reading!

Why Active Learning and Iteration Is the Path to Lasting Success

PS: Please subscribe to my stories by email for the best chance to catch my original works! Your membership fee directly supports Lalitha Brahma and other writers. You’ll also get full access to every story on Medium.
Become a member Visit Lalitha Brahma’s profile. You can connect with my voice in Lalitha’s Morning Musings Podcast here. Here is yet another way I can help

--

--