Forgotten

Roger Nicolson
Exploring Ekphrasis
4 min readMar 17, 2021
Necrotomigaud by Ivan Seal

Bright lights flood into the once dark and dismal room. Hazy figures swim around in the vague and distorted view of mine. They are like clouds floating through the bright illuminating sky, swishing around without a single care for anything.

I remember the times when I felt like a weightless cloud. We used to run around after school, along the gravelly footpaths and luscious green grass, me and her. Her name was Jane. The time spent with her was priceless, playing in the lively little parks near our homes, and as we grew older Jessica and I grew a tight bond like no other. I remember our wedding vividly. It was a celebration beyond imagination, and the joys were overwhelmingly spectacular. I pledged to Jennifer that I would love her until the day I died.

My vision starts to clear up as the withering clouds transform into conspicuous beings. Who are they? What are they doing here? What am I doing here? I want to scan the obscure area, but something is stopping me. I don’t know why I can’t move. What is happening?

Suddenly I feel relieved of the strains that chained me from moving. I remember feeling as if heavy chains were lifted from upon me during my youth, as we were released from school into summer holidays. Running home to my mother cooking up delectable treats for me was extremely exciting. Sometimes I wonder about that girl named Julie though. I don’t think I talked to her very much, but the memories seem unclear. The flavours of my mother’s treats swarmed my tastebuds with euphoria as I devoured every piece.

Bright lights sting my eyes as I peel them open, greeted with a figure standing right ahead of me. They make precise yet distant motions, maybe signalling something. I don’t understand. Why is it here? What does it want? I haven’t seen this room before. As I try look around, my vision starts to clear up. The surroundings are unfamiliar, and I feel as if I have been kidnapped and sent somewhere. The atmosphere does not reflect that however, there is somewhat a sense of serenity and peace.

Peace. I am most at peace when I reflect on my memories. I remember… what was it? I’m feeling something but I can’t tell what. It’s like a complex maths formula that has been cemented into my mind but cannot be recalled at this moment. It must not be important then. I was talking about…. what?

An obscure figure waves its arms flailing arms senselessly. Is it trying to gain my attention? I mutter a word after gathering the little strength left in me. Why? The effort was futile. The being started to move to the side, its form slowly being revealed to me. It was another person? What? What was I looking at…what am I thinking? Everything is alright, why did I just ask myself ‘what am I thinking’? I don’t know…

I might just think about a childhood memory to calm myself down. I don’t think I have for a while now, even though I cherish my everlasting memories dearly. I remember the times that we… no…no…what? What was I thinking of? Why, why, why, why, why, why, why? What is happening? I suddenly feel hopeless and lost. An abyss of endless black engulfs me. I can’t breathe. I can’t breathe…

I awake in a room. I look around and see some people clad in white, holding clipboards. I believe that they are discussing something, but its inaudible to me. Taking a scrutinous look at their faces, they seem to be distraught about something. I try to speak out, but only a small squeak leaves my mouth. The people seemed to have heard it and turned to glare in my direction. I see the look of terrifying horror manifested on their faces. One immediately grasps a telephone and dials a number hastily. They seemed to be in a major rush, as if the situation was life and death. He begins pacing around the room as the receiver of the call finally answers. He mutters something into the phone, something I can’t hear. Why can’t I hear? I could before, why not now? I don’t know where I am.

A knock on the door. Someone enters. My body feels fragile and frail as I lie on a bed in an unknown place. There are some other people here, they seem to be doctors. They’re clad in white and holding clipboards. One goes up to the stranger that entered the room and seems to explain something. As I inspect this unknown person, I notice bulbous tears dripping down her wrinkled face. They increase in quantity as the doctor talks more to her, streaming down her face like a shining waterfall. The doctors sit her down and try to comfort her, but the efforts seem futile, and she seems to be in desperation for something. I’m not sure what. I don’t think I’ve ever met this person, yet I come to the realisation I’m in a hospital bed, lying helplessly while watching the world around me pass on. I don’t know why I’m here.

The woman sits down next to me, still bawling, and faces me. I see the creases of her wrinkly worn skin, coated with fresh streams of tears, glistening against the shining lights. She manages to force a few words out of her quivering mouth. ’Don’t leave me’. I don’t know them. Why are they saying this to me? ‘Why don’t you remember me?’. What? ‘It’s me. Jane’. Who? I don’t remember a Jane. ‘Please don’t go…’.

Drifting into a deep sleep, a word reverbs in my head. No. No. No, no, no, no, no. NO. I wonder why I’m hearing this. But my thoughts subside. What was I thinking about? What, what, what, what, what, what, what, what, what? What’s happeni….

--

--