Best Jazz Clubs, NYC Edition: How to Check Out The New York City Jazz Scene

NYC Explorers
NYC Explorers
Published in
5 min readJul 10, 2015
I spent the week catching all the best jazz NYC has to offer.

Since the 1920’s, jazz has been a staple of the American music scene, and New York City is still bumping with as many tunes and riffs as it was in the roaring days of the Jazz Age. Follow me as I explore the best jazz clubs in NYC.

There’s something about listening to jazz music in historic New York City that’s unlike any other place on the planet. The appeal of syncopated notes and rhythms is all the more magical in a setting that was so crucial to this genre’s history and culture — it’s simply an event you have to experience for yourself!

And I have to say, I never thought that I had the musical knack to appreciate jazz music until I stepped into some of the most famous jazz clubs in New York City.

The Blue Note

A look inside NYC’s Jazz mecca…

The Blue Note has been one of New York’s most popular jazz clubs since it first opened its doors in 1981. Musicians from all over the world come to take the stage every night of the week at 8:30 and 10:00 PM and put on a full-fledged, foot-tapping, doo-wopping show for a crowd packed with genuine jazz fans.

And on top of all that jazz, the cover is only $20 with no drink minimum (which is quite a bit cheaper than most places…trust me). The Blue Note has also been known to bring legends like Stevie Wonder and Liza Minnelli to the stage when these A-listers stop by to catch a show at the legendary club.

I got to experience my very own elbow rubbing with some of the greats on a Wednesday night, when I got the pleasure of catching one of the Blue Note Jazz Festival acts — the David Murray Trio — along with featuring artist Terri Lyne Carrington. The bar was packed, but completely silent; the audience was just immersed in every single note that trickled from the piano.

This experience was incredibly unique, as I discovered that the Blue Note was more about the jazz and less about the mingling and socializing.

Arthur’s Tavern

One of my personal faves, Arthur’s Tavern is more casual.

This place is SO cool! I was starry-eyed upon learning that Arthur’s Tavern opened its doors for the first time 78 years ago, making it the oldest continuously operating jazz club in the Big Apple. As one of the city’s most historic spots, it’s fondly referred to as “Home of the Bird,” having once provided a stage for the one and only Charlie Parker many years ago.

That night’s band was called the Grove Street Stompers Dixieland Jazz Band, which was quick to let the crowd know that they’d been playing on that stage together every Monday night for 53 years. That means they’re the longest-running jazz act in New York City history, playing in the city’s longest-running club!

The band was composed of six sweet, but scary-talented older men who could rock out like they weren’t a day over 25. They played some campy, upbeat kind of jazz tunes in the small, festively decorated bar to a crowd of about ten of us on a Monday night. Though the crowd was small, it was exceptionally diverse, filled with tables of young and hip couples, pairs of friends, older couples, tourists, and regulars alike. I got a strong feeling that all are welcomed at Arthur’s Tavern.

There’s no cover and no drink minimum, so you can come and go as you please. Oh, and they host live jazz music every single night of the week, so it’s always going to be a safe bet.

Fat Cat

Fat Cat’s open-format basement jazz jam sessions are awesome!

Okay, so maybe Fat Cat isn’t specifically a jazz club, but for those super hip millennials out there who are too cool for “jazz clubs,” this is a pretty awesome option. Fat Cat is an underground bar that has live music playing every night of the week, which often includes jazz bands. But music is not all this underground hidden oasis has to offer.

After walking down the stairs to get underground and into the club (if you get there early enough, you won’t even have to pay a cover), the room opens up to a massive rec room, bar, and performance space stocked with tons of activities to keep you entertained all night long. For a small (but worth it!) fee you can play pool, ping-pong, shuffleboard, foosball, chess, checkers, backgammon, or Scrabble.

Have a taste of their Soju cocktails to try something you’ve never had before, or grab a beer or glass of wine and catch whatever musical act is playing. I saw the Osso String Quartet while I was there, but they often host jazz bands that get down on the weekends! This is a place where my friends and I could definitely boogie-woogie all night long.

New York’s Got It All

NYC’s vibrant jazz scene is worth checking out!

Stopping by all these places, I found myself feeling nostalgic of a time I wasn’t even around for. That’s the kind of spell New York can cast on you — and one the jazz scene here put on me has got me bad. From ragtime, to bebop, to Bossa nova, the big city’s got it all, all within just a few blocks. And each joint has its own kind of fascinating charm, so there’s no doubt I’m bringing back friends and family to check out these digs out for themselves.

After this adventure, I think I have a newfound love and appreciation for America’s most original genre of music. I only wish someone had told me about the culture and history of New York City’s jazz scene sooner!

--

--

NYC Explorers
NYC Explorers

#NYC explorers bringing you the best the city has to offer.