Best Window Shopping in NYC: Madison Ave

NYC Explorers
NYC Explorers
Published in
3 min readNov 5, 2015

Wanna shop like a celebrity, but can’t dish out the dough? Watch and learn as I take a stroll down NYC’s designer catwalk — Madison Ave.

Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?

Follow me on my adventure down Madison Avenue…

I do! I do! I must admit that I’ve always dreamed of walking up and down the swanky streets of New York City on Madison Avenue, gazing into the windows of designer stores and running inside to purchase a $500 pair of Jimmy Choo heels like Carrie Bradshaw.

Although I may not actually be able to drop a pretty penny on Chanel and Dior dresses, I decided to spend a whole day dressing up and pretending. After all, everyone deserves to feel like a movie star every once in a while.

Breakfast At Tiffany’s

Oh, they serve Breakfast at Tiffany’s now!

Speaking of movie stars, I happen to be an embarrassingly huge Audrey Hepburn fan. So of course I had to begin my day out on the town by recreating the iconic scene from Breakfast at Tiffany’s scene at the very place the movie was shot!

I swung by the famous Magnolia Bakery at the corner of 6th Ave and 49th St on my way to Tiffany’s to grab a small coffee and a Cappuccino Chocolate Chip muffin (you know, for a little extra shopping sustenance…), then trotted up to the corner of 5th Ave and 57th St. My childhood dream was fulfilled when the greeter outside snapped my photo — for a moment, it felt like I was truly Holly Golightly.

Strolling Down Madison Ave and a Celebrity Sighting!

A slightly blurry stealth photo of Ellie Kemper

I strolled down the entire length of Madison Ave, the designer shopping epicenter of New York City that stretches all the way from 57th to 86th St., looking into the windows at all the gorgeous designer stores (and walking off that muffin). My heart fluttered in awe of the famous storefronts of designers like Prada, Michael Kors, Gucci, and Valentino.

And just when I thought I wouldn’t get any closer to a real celebrity lifestyle, I lifted my head and saw an actual celebrity: Ellie Kemper on the set of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt! I may or may not have followed her for a few blocks with my jaw on the ground… oops!

Shop Til You Drop… or Get Lunch!

After a long day of window shopping I found a sandwich I could afford…

A few hours of strutting around on Madison Ave isn’t as easy as it sounds — it’s tough hanging onto the coattails of fashion and fame! So I decided to stop for lunch at New York City’s famous Lexington Candy Shop Luncheonette, where I was instantly transported to the 1920’s, when this popular diner first opened it doors.

I reflected on my day flirting with instant fame, stylish designers, and legendary locations. I’d seen some great fashion, lived out more than a few fantasies, and had a quick brush with celebrity, but you know what the best part was? Unlike many celebrities, I didn’t end up going broke!

--

--

NYC Explorers
NYC Explorers

#NYC explorers bringing you the best the city has to offer.