Five Things to Do BEFORE You Quit Drinking

These quick steps will make the transition to sobriety safer and easier.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

I drank heavily for over a decade before finally quitting about four and a half years ago. Getting sober was one of the most difficult experiences of my life. I’ve said it a thousand times and will say it a thousand more, because I don’t want anyone who is preparing for sobriety to be caught off guard when they discover just how hard it can be.

With that said, there are a few ways to make getting sober a little easier. Not easy, just easier. Below are five steps that can help ease the transition from heavy drinking to sobriety. Three of them helped me when I was quitting, and two of them are steps that I wish I had taken. If you’re preparing to quit drinking, I hope these steps will help you.

1. Talk to a Doctor

It’s uncomfortable to talk to a doctor about alcoholism. Nobody likes to open up about their addiction, especially while they’re still actively drinking.

Unfortunately, the reality is that alcohol withdrawal can be incredibly dangerous. In the most extreme cases, it can even be deadly. Talking with your doctor before you quit drinking can help you decide on the safest way of getting sober.

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.