Full House’s Dave Coulier on Alcoholism and Sobriety

The sitcom star recently revealed to the world that he quit drinking over two years ago.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Dave Coulier. Photo licensed through Deposit Photos.

As of this January, Dave Coulier is two years sober. In an Instagram post last month, the Full House star told his followers that “I was a drunk. Yes. An alcoholic. I’ve been alcohol free since January 1, 2020.”

The post included a shocking photo of Coulier’s banged-up face. In the picture, he has cuts across his nose, under one eye, and on his forehead. He explains in the caption that the injuries were a direct result of his drinking:

When I drank, I was the life of the party. I could make people laugh until they fell down. In this picture I was the one who fell down. […] I was hammered and fell, going up some stairs made of stone.

Dave Coulier’s Alcoholism

As a fellow alcoholic, I’ve always found it interesting that addiction to alcohol can present itself in many different forms. For me, drinking was primarily a lonely activity — I drank by myself in my apartment, and my habit led to overwhelming feelings of solitude and isolation.

Dave Coulier’s addiction manifested in a very different way. He described his alcohol abuse as a social event. From what he says on…

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.