How Fiona Apple Protects Her Sobriety

The Grammy-winning singer has no trouble putting sobriety first.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Fiona Apple. Photo by Sachyn Mital via Wikimedia Commons. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0.

One of the lessons that I learned when I quit drinking is that the easiest way to resist cravings is to avoid triggering them in the first place. This isn’t always possible, especially in the earliest days of sobriety. However, it really was an important part of my sobriety strategy to avoid situations which I knew would make me want to drink.

I’m certainly not the only one to adapt this strategy. In fact, most of the people I know who have achieved long-term sobriety worked hard to alter their lifestyle to avoid cravings as much as possible.

Earlier this week, I read about a great example of this by the acclaimed singer Fiona Apple.

The past year has been a huge success for Apple. She released her first new album in over a decade, Fetch the Bolt Cutters, and it was met with instant and widespread acclaim.

Critics and fans alike raved about the album. Pitchfork rated it a perfect 10, which was the first perfect score they had given since 2010. (The last album to receive a 10 was Kanye West’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.)

So, it was no surprise that Apple ended up nominated for three Grammys this year: Best Alternative Music Album, Best Rock…

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.