Celebrity Inspiration

How Rob Delaney Tackled Depression After Getting Sober

After he quit drinking, Delaney’s depression spiraled.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety
Published in
4 min readOct 27, 2021

--

Rob Delaney. Photo by Kyle Mizono via Wikimedia Commons. Licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Rob Delaney on Depression

Stand-up comedian Rob Delaney quit drinking in 2002, after a near-deadly drunk-driving accident.

Delaney had been a heavy drinker in his early twenties. His habit caused all kinds of problems, from public arguments with his girlfriend to chronic bed-wetting. However, it wasn’t until his accident that he finally found the motivation to quit.

The car accident showed him that his drinking habit wasn’t just putting his own life at risk; it was also threatening the lives of everyone around him. This realization pushed him to sobriety.

I wrote about Delaney’s decision to get sober in a short article last week, but there’s a second piece to the story that I find just as interesting: what happened after the comedian quit drinking.

As someone who has gotten sober myself, I know that many addicts expect sobriety to immediately turn our lives around. I thought that once I tackled my alcoholism, I’d be thrilled with my new life. Instead, I sank into a deep depression.

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.