Jane Lynch on Sobriety and Why She Relapsed

“I’m telling people I’m drinking one glass of wine a night, and I’m drinking five.”

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Jane Lynch. Photo by “Peterb1234” via Wikimedia Commons. Licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Jane Lynch and My Biggest Fear in Sobriety

Jane Lynch is a comedy icon. She first gained a cult following thanks to her roles in Christopher Guest’s mockumentaries, then saw her fame truly explode when she starred as Sue Sylvester in Glee.

In addition to all of her acting success, Lynch is also proudly sober. I recently read an interview with her in the Guardian that resonated deeply with my as a fellow alcoholic. It turns out that she has lived through one of my greatest fears.

Like Lynch, I’ve struggled with my drinking habit. When I was in my twenties, I used to get drunk every single day.

I tried to quit drinking again and again. Sometimes I made it a few weeks, sometimes just a few hours, but each attempt ended the same way — I’d give up and go right back to drinking.

Then, at the end of 2016, I made yet another attempt to quit. This time, miraculously, I’ve stuck with it. I’m now over five years sober.

However, this brings me to my fear: That despite all my success with sobriety, I’ll end up relapsing yet again.

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.