Sobriety Advice That Is Absolutely Wrong

These three common sayings do more harm than good.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

I stopped drinking four years ago. Since then, I’ve received a plethora of advice on avoiding relapse and building a healthy, sober life.

I’ve always tried to be open to any new advice that I hear. One of the keys to my sobriety has been to accept that I don’t have all the answers. The more I can learn from my fellow addicts, the more likely I am to stay sober.

The vast majority of the advice that I’ve received has been helpful. Some of it has literally saved me from relapse — for example, the classic pithy saying to “take one day at a time.”

However, that doesn’t mean that I accept all suggestions blindly. Occasionally I’ve heard advice that is questionable, or even potentially harmful. I believe that it’s important to think critically about any new advice I hear, to make sure I don’t end up doing more harm to my sobriety than good.

Below are three pieces of advice that I’ve heard that I absolutely disagree with. If I had blindly believed them, I think I’d likely be in relapse now, rather than celebrating four years of sobriety.

Three Pieces of Bad Advice

“If you don’t remember your last drunk, you

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.