Staying Sober and Dealing With Haters

Not everyone will be happy you quit drinking.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I saw an interesting exchange on Twitter earlier this week. A recovered alcoholic woman posted an innocuous tweet about sobriety, and in response, someone belittled her for being “proud” of her addiction. She responded that she was proud because overcoming it was a major achievement.

I think this woman has it absolutely right.

In my own experience as a recovered alcoholic, I’m happy to report that the response has been overwhelmingly supportive. However, every once in a while, I’ve found myself receiving similar hate to what this woman on Twitter experienced.

I’ve never received one of these obnoxious responses face to face — these haters love to hide behind screens, attacking people through the safety of the internet. I’ve experienced it the most right here on this blog.

The types of hate I’ve gotten have ranged from people making fun of me for being an alcoholic to getting angry at me for not doing my recovery the “right” way. They’ve also ranged from slightly rude to downright vicious.

I have to admit that when I first started writing about sobriety, I was terrified about how people would respond. I was lucky to only get positive feedback for the first few months. I think…

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.