Think You Can Beat This New Sobriety Challenge?

It might be harder than you expect.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I’d heard of Dry January and Sober October, but this year I learned about another sobriety challenge — “Sober September.” September is National Recovery Month in the United States, and in honor of that designation, some attempt to go the entire month without drinking any alcohol.

Like Dry January and Sober October, Sober September gives drinkers a chance to reevaluate their relationship with alcohol. By taking a break from drinking, they have an opportunity to better understand the role that alcohol plays in their lives, and maybe to cut down on drinking permanently. I’ve even heard of people using these months to kickoff their long-term sobriety.

However, these month-long challenges are not what I want to focus on today. As great as the challenges might be, I think that they’re generally a better fit for social drinkers than for true alcoholics.

I say that because as a recovered alcoholic, I know that the idea of staying sober for an entire month can be incredibly intimidating. Back when I was a drinker, going a month without alcohol sounded nearly as impossible as going a decade.

So, I’d like to propose a new sobriety challenge: One Day Sober.

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.