Three Lies That Postponed My Sobriety

I’d tell myself anything to justify my alcoholism.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

I got sober in 2016, but only after wasting about a decade of my life with daily heavy drinking.

I actually realized that I had a drinking problem very early on, only a year or two after the daily drinking began. Unfortunately, I came up with all kinds of excuses to put off addressing my addiction.

Below are three lies that I told myself to justify my heavy drinking and postpone my sobriety:

“I’ll Cut Back”

Like so many alcoholics before me, I spent years trying to learn to drink in moderation. I knew that I was drinking too much, but the idea of eliminating alcohol from my life completely sounded far too extreme — unbearably so.

Instead, I came up with all kinds of compromises with myself:

  • I’ll only drink on the weekends.
  • I’ll only drink with friends.
  • I won’t have more than 3 drinks per night.

I tried out every rule and restriction I could think of, but I was never able to actually stick with them.

The same thing would happen again and again: I’d go a few days or a couple of weeks following my self-imposed restrictions. Then, one…

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.