What Full House’s Dave Coulier Can Teach Us About Sobriety

There are two ways to react when life gets hard.

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

--

Full House stars Bob Saget, John Stamos, and Dave Coulier. Photo licensed through Deposit Photos.

Staying Sober When Life Gets Hard

I quit drinking five years ago, and I can say with complete honesty that the decision has vastly improved almost every aspect of my life. However, no matter how immensely sobriety has helped me, my life still isn’t perfect. I still go through plenty of hard days, weeks, and sometimes even months.

Since I quit drinking, I’ve had relatives die, gone through breakups, and been laid off from a job. Sobriety isn’t a magical spell that ends all of our hardships. Life keeps going on, even after we quit drinking, and that includes the ups and the downs.

There’s a famous prayer which has become extremely popular within the addiction-recovery community:

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.”

This Serenity Prayer, written ninety years ago by Reinhold Niebuhr, contains a simply, powerful message that has helped many addicts like myself through hard times.

I can’t change whether someone dies, or whether I get laid off from a job, but I can decide on my response to those…

--

--

Benya Clark
Exploring Sobriety

I’m a lawyer turned writer from North Carolina. I write about sobriety, mental health, and more. Subscribe to my weekly newsletter at exploringsobriety.com.