Photo: Jazmin Quaynor, Unsplash

Procrastination, Inertia and Bra Dreams

The Thieves of Time and Initiative

Augusta Khalil Ibrahim
2 min readJul 10, 2016

--

Thanks for the encouraging words. I haven’t made any yet.

👙👙👙👙👙👙👙👙👙👙👙👙

I haven’t made a single bra yet. I have half-sewn bra cups strewn around and several patterns. But no finished bra yet. Although I did replace the straps of a white bra with red fittings for a top I had with a semi-transparent lace back. So in theory, I’ve made half a bra. One tit at a time, so to speak.

I’ve bought the tutorial:

I have procured the fabric and sewn matching knickers:

I had to search all over town for the fittings. You know, Thomas, those fiddly bits. Are you the type of guy who can open them with one hand? While wearing boxing gloves?

I would be thrilled to have sewn a bra.

And I lie here in the boulevard of broken sew-a-bra dreams surfing from Medium to Twitter.

I dream of black bras, of red ones, of frilly ones and functional ones.

I dream of dusty silk satin bras trimmed with delicate grey frills.

I dream of criss-crossed back bras in black satin, I dream of creamy satin bras.

I dream of pirouetting in front of the mirror in my newest bra which will match my dress and rehearsing my Medium photo.

And still nothing changes because all I got is dreams, a truckload of procrastination and a mountain of inertia burdening my shoulders instead of my unburdened shoulders being decorated with pretty pink satin straps and flowery lace.

--

--