Sew Your Own Clothes

Augusta Khalil Ibrahim
Express, Create, Manifest.
3 min readSep 16, 2016

--

I sew my own panties and I’ve begun sewing tops too.

You can buy an entry-level sewing machine cheaper than ever. This is the high-end machine that I’m using right now:

I made Fibonacci-spiral cushion covers in bali batik fabric.
Fibonacci cushion cover in Bali Batik.

To sew your own knickers you only need a machine that sews zigzag. Those free advertising T-shirts in the back of your closet? They’re perfect for panties. My neighbour gave me a bunch of them and I sewed a couple of pairs of panties with his company logo on them for his wife. Normally I cut the logo away but in this case I didn’t need to; it became a feature.

An overlocker will give a very professional finish to your projects but it’s not neccessary at all:

I sew my own handbags, purses, make-up pouches, cushion covers, duvet covers, pillow cases and aprons.

Fabric and supplies are expensive but once your family and friends find out that you’ve started sewing, you will get plenty of fabulous fabric that people buy and never use.

I sew bags too; I love the deliciously frothing effect of frills and lace. I bought the hand-embroidered pocket for a pittance at a flea market. It must have taken the teenager who sold it to me at least 5 hours to sew. It has pretty pearls and tiny little mirrors.

There’s a walnut chair with a prussian-blue leather seat in the background. I bought the leather cheap at the local (posh) flea market and my children’s grandad nailed the leather onto the frame for me.

Other projects:

Tote bags, handbags,, purses. You can easily sew a perfect bag for every outfit. Left, Gustav Klimt “The Kiss” tote bag, centre: flamboyant boho flashes of purple, green and orange with bamboo handle and right, frills and lace on cotton, linen and half-panama.

Get busy, ladies and gentlemen.

In the time that it took you to read this article, you could have sewn two pairs of knickers.

Click recommend to encourage me to continue sewing and to let me know you liked my stuff. It means the World to me.

--

--