From the left, fox jersey with grey fold-over elastic, jungle print jersey with light green satin fold-over elastic, pink satin with grey elasticated frill trim and purple cotton with (almost invisible) lilac elasticated frill trim

Sew your own knickers.

You only need a machine that does zigzag.

Augusta Khalil Ibrahim
3 min readMay 28, 2016

--

Three years ago I couldn’t thread a sewing machine.

I started with simple bags and that went astonishingly well.

The clear and specific instructions in the ‘Sew your own panties’ tutorial on this web site got me started on underwear:

Novita explains clearly the different kinds of elastic too. For a quick-and-dirty-jeans-wearing-version, just skip the elastic.

I have fifty knickers that I sewed myself.

I have knickers with a fox print
I bought this gorgeous red silk (the one in the middle) in Hamburg.

I am torn between garrulous pride at sewing these beauties on the one hand and burning with shame at exhibiting my knickers on the net on the other.

On Novita’s (the panties tutorial lady) advice, I purchased a bra tutorial but haven’t sewn one yet.

Maybe I’ll even model them on Medium.

In the meantime you can view them on my instagram profile: sewyourownknickers.

This lovely lady did it in a bikini with beauty, grace and dignity:

After all, I fucking love my body.

September 20 2016 Update. Thank you for reading this far.

Here are some more panties that I’ve sewn:

A Renaissance knickers with light-blue elasticated frill and turquoise waistband. The back is a leopard print.

April 2020 update — Corona Panties, el dia de los muertos

Home sewn panties on a clothes line in el dia de los muertos jersey fabric pink frilled elastic trim and polka dot waistband
Home sewn panties in el dia de los muertos jersey fabric pink frilled elastic trim detail zigzag stitch skull sewing teeth
Homemade panties hanging on my clothes line in the yard
Panties on a clothes line in jersey fabric and green and pink polka dot waistband Blond brick background window panes

--

--