Christian Music Is Alive.

The artists you have yet to hear are out here to mix up your playlists.

Despina P.
Express Impact
2 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Photo by: Cottonbro Studio via Pexels

I used to believe the misconception that Christian music was only church hymns and church chants and that there weren’t any other genres that were “gospel” led and inspired.

But I was wrong.

Christian music holds so much more variety and genres that for some reason, while living under a rock, I had yet to listen to.

Many of these artists mesh into other genres, and their music is also cross-listed. That being said, I hope you find some new music and artists you love that lead you to the plethora of other artists out there. Glory to God, as God-centered music is out here and thriving.

Here is a list of genres, artists, and one of their songs to get you started or reacquainted; happy listening:

Pop:

Short for popular, it is a form of contemporary music that appeals to a wide audience. The following artists are a few of many.

Blanca: I Got You

Terrian: Stayed On Him

Micah Tyler: Walking Free

Hip-Hop/Rap:

When rhyme, beat, and rhythmic speech meet, the artists followed must be mentioned:

Zauntee: Hard Work God First (live mic performance)

KB: Glory 2 Glory (visualizer)

Caleb Gordon: Fruit Of My Labour (official video)

RnB:

Combining elements from pop, soul, and hip-hop, we have the following artists making music:

Sondae: Air I Breathe (ft. Isabelle Brown)

Afolake: Blessed

Ryan Hylton: True (live)

Soul:

A combination of rhythm and blues and gospel, we have the following artists:

Ryan Leigh: Our Father

Kaye-Marie: Love Never Ceases

Darla Baltazar: Whom Have I (ft. Nina Sengson, official video)

Jazz:

The genre was heavily influenced by blues and big on improvisation and performance, artists as these are examples of jazz.

Phil Driscoll: I Exalt Thee

Tim Bowman, Jr.: Your Love

Emma Nissan: Gotta Have Faith

Country:

Influenced by folk music and usually accompanied by some string instruments.

Jonathan Ogden: Sufficient For Me

Josiah Queen: My Promise Land

Isaiah Lapp: Hey God, It’s Me Again.

As always ,I hope you got something or some music out of this article. Feel free to leave a comment with any recommendations for us all, and or which song is your new or actual favourite.

Cheers to some great music!

--

--

Despina P.
Express Impact

Hello, my name is Despina I am a passionate reader and writer who loves to explore a variety of topics and aim to captivate and connect with readers. Cheers!