The Beauty of Taiwan

I recently spent a year living in Taiwan and will never view life the same.

Will Butler
Express Impact
5 min readJun 4, 2024

--

The hills and coastline of Northeastern Taiwan. (All photos by Author)

Globetrotting

Despite the exponential rate of globalization in the modern age, there still exists an unfathomable amount of diversity around the globe. Our world is shared by 195 countries, with most having their own language(s), culture(s), and history.

One of the greatest aspects of international travel is trying to absorb these stark differences, all the while discovering the underlying foundations that keep our species connected across borders. Such unique experiences, which often can’t be had in one’s home country, lead to immeasurable growth and can have a profound impact on one’s perspective.

The Catch

With all good things though, comes a darker side. From political corruption and stained histories to panhandler armies and unethical environmental practices, the majority of countries have shortcomings. Nothing’s perfect…at least that’s what I believed until I came to Taiwan.

Taroko Gorge in Hualien, Taiwan.

The Exception to the Catch

Okay, maybe Taiwan isn’t perfect either, but it’s the closest thing I’ve seen to it in all of my travels. All of my friends living in Taiwan (who are definitely not biased at all!!) agree as well.

To name a few of the countless positives of the country: the food, the affordability, the unique festivals, the extremely convenient transportation, the Mandarin practice, the beautiful mix of nature and city, and (if you’re from EST) the digital peace between noon and 8 pm when everyone on the other side of the world is sleeping.

Alishan Natural Scenic Area in central Taiwan.

The People

Cliche as it may be, the people in Taiwan are my favorite part of the island. I believe this is largely thanks to the culture that the country has nurtured. I consider it similar to Japan’s strong culture of respect without as much of the strict societal structure or traditional perspectives. The relatively smaller size of Taiwan no doubt contributes to the laid-back atmosphere prevalent throughout the country.

The Taiwanese

The Taiwanese are collectively the most authentic, kind, and, when you can (finally) crack their shells, fun people I’ve ever met. It also seems that almost everyone follows this deep culture of mutual respect mentioned above.

Anyone who has visited Taiwan might counter that the elderly seem to have slight immunity — it’s not out of the ordinary to encounter one J-walking while dropping an air biscuit with their eyes locked onto yours. I can’t say this hasn’t happened to me. In their defense, however, I also wouldn’t be surprised if one offered me their son’s jacket because I looked cold (which actually happened).

Safety and Trust

Around the biggest city in the country, you’ll find valuables left lying around, doors left unlocked, and trust that is quickly developed. This is an extremely refreshing aspect of the community that is one of the things I miss most. It’s not in every country that I see a dark alley in the middle of the city and think, “Let’s go see what’s down there!”

An alleyway in Jiufen, Taiwan.

Expats

On the other side of the coin is the expat community. By default, they have a powerful shared bond in that they are all away from where they once called home. Consequently, they are more often than not on the same page about having no clue what the bus driver is yelling at them. In addition to this, they tend to be more open to exploring, trying new things, and meeting new people than the average Taiwanese.

This naturally draws expats together, and while this might not be super unique to the Taiwanese expat community, most maintain a strong appreciation for the culture they’re immersed in. This inevitably leads to a cultural trickle-down effect that I feel was tangible in the dispositions of most expats I met. The respect and congeniality didn’t stop with the Taiwanese.

Conversations — although usually repeated among fresh faces — are almost always genuine and inevitably lead to deeper, mutually beneficial relationships. Due to the large diversity of backgrounds, there is also a massive pool of experience and knowledge to learn from.

Some expat friends in a Hello-Kitty-Themed 7-Eleven in Taipei.

A 2nd Home

When traveling elsewhere in the past, there were many times when I declared to myself that I would certainly return. Although this is likely quite impractical for most — there are simply too many places to see around the world and not enough time or money — I have never felt it to be truer than with Taiwan.

I admittedly have a bias since it is the longest I have lived anywhere outside of the U.S., the only other place I have been able to develop lasting relationships. Regardless, I truly believe Taiwan is a unique country. It is easily the most affordable first-world country I’ve ever visited and it maintains what is likely one of the only remaining pervasively respectful cultures in the world.

The cherry on top is that it does these two things at the same time, all the while offering anything and everything else an ideal destination might have, from food to nature to exciting events and traditions. Although my year spent in Taiwan was limited to…a year, I plan on spending a lifetime coming back.

--

--

Will Butler
Express Impact

I share what I journal what I experience. No rhyme or reason.