Why I Only Lasted 2 Years in Corporate and the Solution for Neurodivergents

Tash Burbidge
Express Impact
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2024

I called it the ‘2-year ick’: my inability to stay in a job after the 2-year mark — and no, I wasn’t fired. (That only happened once, by my own mum of all people.)

Instead, it was a feeling. A visceral feeling of entrapment, as if my life was over and I’d spend the rest of my days in a characterless, overwhelming office.

Dramatic? Perhaps. But honestly, it’s truly how it feels.

I could never understand why I felt this way, why it was just me, or how everyone else could be okay doing the same thing every day, forever. To this day, I haven’t had anyone tell me they get it too, but thanks to Reddit, I know they’re out there.

I was lucky to last 1 day in some jobs. I probably averaged about 6 months before the age of 22. Once I started my career in sales, I lasted a max of 2 years before finding some reason to leave. It’s safe to say, not everything is listed on my CV.

I’m sharing this because, until a few years ago, I thought I was just being difficult, flaky, or a bad employee. In fact, it’s most likely because I have ADHD. Once I reached the point of stagnation in my role, I needed stimulation and challenge to avoid feeling like every day was the same. What others saw as impulsive, weird behaviour, I saw as my way of finding new freedom.

For me, it’s the mundane routine:

- Having lunch at the same time.

- Dreading the same Monday morning meetings.

- The same environment.

I need variety. I need spice. I need different environments, and so do many others — but we keep our heads down and suffer in silence, until we can’t. By that point, we just need to get out. The feeling of being trapped is too strong.

While my experience is linked to ADHD, neurotypical people also get this ick.

Research supports this.

“The ‘honeymoon’ phase of employment lasts about two years. The Kenexa High Performance Institute found that 57% of 840,000 managers in the US and Britain were disengaged by the two-year mark. Similarly, the Institute of Leadership & Management (ILM) found that UK managers are happiest during their first two years in a new organization, after which many start to ask, “Now what?”

The solution? Flexible working.

Flexible working isn’t about leaving early for a kid’s sports day or a dental appointment. It’s about truly flexible work arrangements. If someone enjoys the 9–5 office structure, that’s great. But it isn’t so easy for some of us, including those with anxiety, mood disorders, and those days where you simply ‘can’t people.’

The mundaneness isn’t the only issue. Many offices are sensory nightmares: open plan, people everywhere, phones ringing, poor lighting. You’re expected to sit there for 8–9 hours a day, and if you’re not at your desk, you’re quietly labelled as not pulling your weight.

If corporations acted more human and less like robots, the workforce would drastically improve. Staff retention, profits, customer service, and mental health would all benefit from a less rigid structure, allowing people to work how they work best.

I’m an adult and I like to be treated as one. I want to feel trusted and seen in the workplace, where we spend most of our lives and give our best hours. If the job can be done from anywhere, it’s only fair to allow it.

Create a 2-way working environment where people feel they have some autonomy, and watch the magic happen. Give staff the opportunity to ask for what they need without condemnation. The reduced cost in staff turnover should at least be enough for companies to give it a go.

What do you think about companies not moving fast enough with flexible working? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

--

--

Tash Burbidge
Express Impact

Sharing my vulnerable & honest experiences about all things life, work, inclusivity & everything in between.