Old But Gold: The Falcon and the Snowman (1985) ~ A True Story

A boy from a typical middle-class American family sells secrets to the Russians. He became disillusioned thinking: This is NOT America.

Treathyl Fox aka cmoneyspinner
Express Yourself!

--

(Non-members may read this content free: click here.)

Ever watched the movie “The Falcon and the Snowman” (1985)?

I once worked for the federal government. I understand how a young man like Christopher Boyce who came from a typical middle-class white American Catholic family … could become disillusioned when it comes to the knowledge that his beloved country, the United States of America, is not … “perfect”. After all, (like me) that’s not what he was taught or raised to believe.

Even though I’m African-American and grew up in a segregated neighborhood, I can empathize with how he felt. I was taught the same thing. America is the land of the free, the home of the brave, we’re righteous and other countries should follow our example. Even though I understand Mr. Boyce, I refuse to justify what he did. Ideals or not, HE WAS WRONG!

So America is not “without sin”. But can any other country say that they are sinless? You don’t like what’s happening in America? Stay here and change…

--

--

Treathyl Fox aka cmoneyspinner
Express Yourself!

Hi! Thanks for visiting. Please come back often. ** Freelance blogger/article writer since 2007. Crypto enthusiast & K-drama lover! What about you?