Once upon a time, we walked on empty streets …..

Adesola Orimalade
Express Yourself!
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2020
Empty high street, U.K. April 2020

A few days ago my daughter and I went for an evening stroll.

The weather was lovely, the air was fresh and still and although the sun was out its rays were more soothing than burning.

As we walked on the sidewalk, I took out my mobile phone and began to take pictures.

She turned to me and smiling at my “new” found interest in photography reminded me the obvious;

“Dad why are you taking pictures … there is nothing to see..”

Empty High Street, U.K. town, April 2020

I replied that in future she and I will have the opportunity to show these same pictures to the coming generations and use them, their content to tell our story.

It will be a story about how once upon a time our main streets emptied and families sat indoors. They sat indoors because of a virus so lethal that it took many too quickly, too soon.

The pictures will also serve as a reference to our resilience as a people, demonstrating at the same time our solidarity as well as the unity of purpose. It will be a testimony that when we as a community work together as a group we can achieve so much.

Remember that by staying indoors we are also saving lives and gifting our loss of freedom of movement to others, even if they are total strangers.

--

--

Adesola Orimalade
Express Yourself!

Author of children books,writer,storyteller,unwilling to turn a blind eye to socio-economic inequalities.C-suite executive seeking roles in social enterprise.