If Were a Woman

Josephat Shikuku
Express Yourself!
Published in
3 min readSep 16, 2020

I am a man myself. But sometimes I fail to understand why we men don’t appreciate our beloved women. Despite the fact that women are just wonderful creatures, rumor has it that a high percentage of men sing this song: ‘’If I Were a Woman’

If I were a woman, I would change my school of thought.

I would eat as I read this article.

A woman’s view of food is an enemy.

Photo by Luísa Schetinger on Unsplash

We know you have a mission to meet your good looks.

Talk of all the time make-up and smartly curled hair.

I’m telling you, to achieve your mission of natural beauty, stop contesting against food, wash your hands, and start eating.

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I would read a book entitled ‘I am Sorry Not.’

This book will help me realize that saying I’m sorry, I’m sorry… is a killer for my productivity as a woman.

I mean, why do I have to be too apologetic?

You cannot succeed in everything you do, instead, be strong as you decide on your preferences.

The study shows that women say, ‘sorry’ many times compared to men.

I would avoid checking his phone or drawer.

I have my small secretes so I have to honor his mandatory. I don’t want him to also someday land on the old panties that I keep for nothing.

I would rather play a game than log-in to Facebook on a Monday night.

I do not mean that women are the only social media addicts.

Facebook obsesses many women. They compare their authentic lives to someone else’s cybernetic (virtual) life.

You want to compare the dressing code of a celeb-filled party to yours in church.

I mean, why would you even scroll through your X’s posted photos he took during his vacation?

Research shows that people with low self-esteem are likely to be addicted to Facebook. And playing a game could boost your depression feelings.

If I were a woman, my looks would please me.

Nothing I can do about it. Unless I want to solve my body problems with a therapist.

I would kind of wear flat shoes than heels every day.

You will look beautiful in a pair of pumps, but ugly when commuting.

Most of the time, it’s uncomfortable to walk in heels, and in years to come, you won’t be able to feel your feet.

I would stop faking it, yes, my orgasms, or else…

Better be yourself all the time. (I can’t explain this point further, someone can help,)

Photo by Graeme Worsfold on Unsplash

I would find out if ‘’lateness’’ is really missing in men’s dictionary.

If I were you, I would practice doing everything on time.

You were to travel tomorrow then get dressed today.

Keep time, keep your man!

I would develop a stingy tongue, especially when around my man.

If your tongue is shaking, about to spill every kind of story to please a man…. We, men, prefer calmness.

I would stop asking for compliments from my man.

Photo by Sonnie Hiles on Unsplash

Women are people who will repeat the same question countless times despite receiving praise from a man.

Please find your best friend and ask her instead. Or,

Gain some confidence so you could decide for yourself.

A Secret: This is the woman every man wants.

Conclusion

I have not exhausted everything here. You can drop your thought by commenting. But, before that;

To our beloved women in the house, by a show of hands,

1. How many would stop the jealousy pang when your man hugs another woman?

2. Would you climb those mountains on your vocation with your cellphone switched off?

I’ll be back to collect the answers.

--

--

Josephat Shikuku
Express Yourself!

Shikuku is a freelance writer, EC teacher, a poet, musician... He believes that readers deserve to access the right information.