Was Waffle House in George Orwell’s ‘1984' Novel? (An Opinion Piece)

JAOMHOP. Just another one of my humorous opinion pieces.

Treathyl Fox aka cmoneyspinner
Express Yourself!
2 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

When I was younger, during my years at university, I used to enjoy going to restaurants that were open 24/7 with my friends and we would just have a meal or a dessert and just hang out with each other.

In all of the time that I have gone to 24/7 restaurants, I can’t remember seeing a security guard.

Fast forward to 2022/2023. Waffle House is a restaurant that has locations that are open 24/7 and was known as a popular place to go for late-night eating. We have one of those locations in Austin, Texas.

Notice I said, “was known”. Because now Waffle House IS KNOWN for knock-down-drag-out fights and some that even resulted in mass shootings.

WHAT IS GOING ON???

I live in Austin, Texas and hardly anything happens at our restaurants other than enjoying good eating and good company. So I was really surprised to see a video that went viral of a brawl that took place at the Waffle House in Austin, Texas.

NOW …

Per a report as of February 2023, there are Waffle House locations with armed security guards visibly present and a voice you can hear over a loudspeaker system that lets the customers know they are being watched.

I don’t know about y’all … but I don’t want to eat at a restaurant where I have to look at an armed security guard standing by the door and listen to constant reminders that I’m being watched. That’s crazy!

Was Waffle House in George Orwell’s “1984” novel?

What Waffle House Used to Be:

Thanks for reading.

My Opinion Pieces

46 stories

--

--

Treathyl Fox aka cmoneyspinner
Express Yourself!

Hi! Thanks for visiting. Please come back often. ** Freelance blogger/article writer since 2007. Crypto enthusiast & K-drama lover! What about you?