I gave away my Crooked Knife today.

I wrote a letter to give to the Elders of Standing Rock to go with it.

I gave away my Crooked Knife today.
Tommy Einish, a Naskapi Elder whom I considered a grandfather, gave it to me before he passed. It was one of the last things he made.
It is one of the few tokens I have from home.

I gave it to my friend Peggy, she and 2 other friends are all traveling to #StandingRock to help the resistance effort.

Peggy knew how tough times were for me, and there’s no way I’d be able to afford the journey. She offered to take a token to bring to the Elders there. Gently but firmly, I felt the urge to give my knife, to be buried on the Standing Rock lands.

Many Naskapi from the tribe I grew up with have expressed solidarity and lament that they’re not able to afford to make it down to join their Brothers and Sister. And so I knew sending a small piece of the Naskapi First Nation would mean a great deal.

The Dakota Access Pipeline represents a very clear example of environmental racism, its path bending around white communities while slicing through Native ones.

The National Guard and local law enforcement, paid to protect people, have released violence on the Natives at Standing Rock, all in the name of corporate interests.

I stand in support of #NoDAPL, #StandingRock, and every other tribe fighting against betrayal by their occupying oppressors.

Thank you to Peggy Amacker Murphy​, Aayesha Aijaz​, and Kay Henry​ for making the journey.

My heart is with you.

--

--

Benjamin Young Savage (ᐱᓐᒋᐱᓐ)
Extra Newsfeed

Independent Abolitionist • Graphic/Artist • Rez Raised/Interracial Family/MK • 🧔🏻👧🏽👦🏽 • 🌸🐯 • 👨🏻‍💻 @Zerflin • 🇺🇸🇨🇦 • 🇮🇪🇵🇱