I Know I Should Care About What Bill Maher Said, But I Just Can’t

Here’s Why

Emmanuel Brown
Extra Newsfeed
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2017

--

As many of you have heard, self-proclaimed liberal provocateur, Bill Maher, used “nigga” on his popular HBO show, Real Time With Bill Maher. HBO recently released an obligatory statement condemning the use of the word in response to the public backlash. (They even called it “inexcusable.”) The irony should not be lost on anyone that a network that has done nothing but support and profit off of Maher’s racially insensitive rhetoric is now openly condemning it. Many have demanded the show be cancelled. Whatever Time Warner decides, I’m sure it will benefit shareholders.

When Bill Maher said “nigga” on television, I wasn’t surprised. I was actually more surprised he hadn’t said it already. My lack of outrage does not stem from me trying to be the “cool black friend” trope who purports to believe in the duplicitous “it’s just a joke, man” ideology. I understand the horrific history behind the word. I also understand the venom behind the word is highly contextual. I can hear the word used 16 times in a conversation between two black teenagers and not flinch or listen to several rappers throw it around casually on my way to work and be unfazed. Yet if a white co-worker used it in a joke, it would be alarmingly insensitive (and a quick way to cash out on a lawsuit and quit my job). An inexplicable amount of rage, hurt and confusion would creep up from the pit of my stomach to the top of my big bald black head. I get it, I do.

So while part of me wants to care, it’s really hard when I’ve seen this coming for a long time. Bill Maher is an arrogant straight white male who gets paid to be an asshole. His currency is his own privilege. It’s why he gazed lovingly into Milo Yiannopoulos’ eyes as Yiannopoulos drooled white supremacist, misogynistic and transphobic bullshit on Real Time earlier this year. They’re the same person — filled with privilege and willing to say anything to elicit self-serving attention. An infringement on their free speech (aka their right to be a privileged asshole in public without repercussions) is an assault on their very being. The motivation to even bring Yiannopoulos on his show was to teach all the sensitive liberals and marginalized groups of people that engaging with hateful people is fun — especially if it boosts your ratings.

Therefore it’s not a surprise that Maher is part of the “c’mon man, you know I’m a liberal and cool and don’t mean it like that” crowd. Maher believes that being a known progressive who is “never wrong” somehow shields him from ignorant and racist ideologies. The opposite is likely true. White privilege gone unchecked and vehemently supported usually turns into racism. I want to be angry this happened, but sorry y’all, I just know my country too damn well and watched too many episodes of Real Time.

Liked what you read? Kindly tap the❤ button below to recommend it to others on Medium or use the Facebook or Twitter icon below to share on social media.

My President Was, Is and Will Always Be Black

“Get Out” and the Brave and Necessary New Frontier of Expressing Black Pain

Opinion: I’m not a bigot. I just don’t care about minorities.

Drake Is McDonald’s

--

--