More than Sex & Violence

Westworld HBO Series

Russell L. Brand
Extra Newsfeed

--

Photo by Tobias Keller on Unsplash

I just saw season on of HBO’s Westworld. I had previously read a great deal of scholarly discussion that had in no way to prepared me for the graphic violence; I think it counts as the grossest thing I have seen in my life and my admiration for the academics in finding deep and important questions has grown as a result

I am however left with a perhaps a smaller question:

What could a Westworld like place offer to someone who does have unmet needs for sex or violence?

Are there many of us?

I have a fear that there aren’t many of us. Because Westworld isn’t the only work where the selling sex, violence and/or sexual violence is central to the story. In these works of fiction the violence being sold to the wealthiest.

Will being able to be violent / mean become the motivation for becoming rich?

With being able to be violent / mean become the tacit expectation of what one does when one becomes rich in a way that sponsoring the arts, donating to medical research and playing golf are today?

I don’t know. I don’t understand it. And it scares me.

--

--

Russell L. Brand
Extra Newsfeed

Advancing Knowledge and Truth … … … … … … … Fostering Kindness and Compassion … … … … …Promoting Adoption of Useful Ideas & Technologies. https://goo.gl/v66fCp