Daniel Witke
Extra Newsfeed
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2016

--

My experience with the homeless

A few weeks ago, New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo signed an executive to protect the homeless by having law officials send them to a shelter.

Now granted, the Governor’s order appears to be for a noble and just cause. However, according to a report by the city comptroller Scott Stringer, his office found that 90 percent of family homeless shelters have at least one violation: rats, peeling lead paint, and broken smoke detectors are the most hazardous.

“23,000 children will sleep tonight in rat-infested shelters,” said Stringer in a CBS News-New York interview.

Last Friday, I was headed home and walked into the nearest NYC subway station. I immediately saw a woman sitting on the cold floor as she begged for money. In her arms was a small child who was fast asleep. She wept and cried for any kind of spare change; dozens of New Yorker’s walked by without even looking down.

I had to do something.

I decided I would make a few calls (at 5:45 pm) to see if there were any open homeless areas in my area. I called three homeless shelters, not one of them answered. I guess, like any job, working at a homeless shelter ends at 5 pm.

I couldn’t help but wonder if this woman was deliberately staying away from the hazardous homeless shelters and taking her chances in the NYC subway.

After a few minutes of contemplation, I knew I had to do something. Instead of giving her money I bent down and asked if she needed water. In her exhaustion, she squeaked out, “yes please.” I then raced up to the nearest deli and bought bottled water, trail mix, and Tylenol packets.

I handed the bag of products to her and she was grateful, but I still felt guilty. I had only bought her products most people go through in a few hours. I couldn’t help but think that I should have done more.

Then I realized why I felt disappointed. As I waited for the next available train I watched my fellow NYC citizens put their blinders on and completely ignore an ailing woman and her child. Most people jumped on the next train without even remembering what they saw; she was a shadow on the wall. Even though I performed a mild act of kindness, no else did.

I can understand why people do not want to give money to every beggar, but this case was an exception. It is human nature to give to people who are in our community; we give to churches, nonprofits, friends and family, but for some reason the homeless are not in our community. This woman and her child are certainly in our community and need to be helped.

This woman begged for her life, and sadly, the majority of people didn’t even know she was there.

The solution to helping the homeless is not taking them off the streets or even improving the battered system; the solution comes with human kindness.

I am not involved well-educated on NYC politics, but I do know that Mayor Bill De Blasio is aware of the homeless shelter epidemic and has initiated a plan to fix the issue. In my role as an NYC citizen, I am putting my faith in our political leader and I hope he truly understands the severity of the task at hand.

However, on my side, I will always try to give to someone in dire need.

--

--