Perception can be a reality’s distortion

Sceriff
Extra Newsfeed
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2017

--

If you see a different me it is only your fault

I feel young in the same way of thirty years ago, but you see me in a different way; you feel me different in the way I see the world or I love people.

This is just your wrong feeling because nothing has changed in my mind, to tell the truth I feel even better than thirty years ago: I like travel, love, have fun, eat and drink.

… and I am sixty now, so if you see another me is only your fault.

We need to be always aware of this trap: stereotype.
Our perceptions can paint an unreal world, very far from reality, so we need to be conscious of some stereotypes we face every day:
- we think the others think accordingly to our mental map
- we act thinking that the people are like us
- the others have to understand in the same way we understand (yes, why not???)

…wrong, wrong!

Every person is a boat surfing the sea, during our journey we meet some of them to travel together, but share the same direction doesn’t mean to be similar, in fact we are unique.

We need to always keep our eyes opened, to close watch the people we meet and breathe their feelings to really understand who they are.
Appearance is just the start of knowledge, to really understand a human being we need to apply not only perception but go further listening to their hearts.

In this era plenty of “social” networks (that surrogate the way to get in touch with people) we need to pay attention to discriminate real things from fakes avoiding to catalog people by families, as everyone is a single entity with its merits, defects and values.

Words are just the 7% of the communication; the fundamental part is composed by body language (55%) and voice (38%).

Meeting people means get in touch with them, it needs a close touch, the social network eliminates a fundamental component of the communicative process, reducing communication to an exchange of words where interlocutors are completely out of touch with the communicative context.

Communication is also a relation: the social network takes away the ability to test, experiment, try and improve, to see the aspects of ourselves in relationships, and to be motivated to solve this component.

So guys, start to talk, move your bodies and open your eyes… to see me for what I really am; please use the socials as an help not as the main tool to know people, not me.

Thank you

Thanks for reading, if you enjoyed, please press the heart button below to recommend it to others.
Also, please consider following me here on Medium and Twitter.

--

--

Sceriff
Extra Newsfeed

Jazzing up following my narrative self. I write to communicate using irony and a bit of provocation because I'm a wild goose stubbornly against the tide.