Pain — the journey of how to make my low back pain free

SysyJourney
Extraordinary Garden
3 min readOct 20, 2022

Section one

An old chile says health is the most incredible wealth in life. Indeed, possessing large amounts of money doesn’t ensure happiness, but without health, there is undoubtedly no happiness.

I was diagnosed with a Lumbar spine herniation at l5-s1 last year, which seemed like a minor illness, but it completely affected my quality of life. According to documentation, Symptoms of an L5-S1 pinched nerve include pain, stiffness, numbness, tingling, and weakness. Nerve pain is described as having burning, sharp, or throbbing like-symptoms that travel to the lower limbs giving patients sciatica-like pain.

That’s right, I’ve had all of these symptoms. I could only lie in bed during the most painful period.

I had trouble walking and my waist could barely straighten. I had a whole tingling nerve on the right side of my body from ankle to waist. Suffice it to say, this was the kind of pain I have never experienced in my life that killed me almost every day for two months.

Who can help me? What can I do to stop this damn pain, even for a minute? I gasped. Although I have almost no pain in my low back now, I still clearly remember the pain and the despair at that time.

There are only a few things in the world that cannot be shared with others, and one of them is pain. People who love you and support you may help you reduce the burden of cleaning and accompanying you, but they can’t bear the pain for you. They can’t understand the extent of your pain, and they may even think that you are making a big deal out of it sometimes. Those who don’t know you think you should have done something bad to cause such a problem, that you should sincerely repent and pray to God. Forgive me, I scolded them many times in my heart.

While I wish I could try to downplay my pain in front of people, it’s almost impossible. I would start to doubt my life and an overwhelming sense of loss would follow. I long for this to be short-lived, but it seems hopeless, especially after I’ve seen several doctors.

Yes, this is the real feeling of people with low back pain. Pain is not the beginning of a disease for sure. The disease has been quietly developing from our usual bad habits in our daily life, but pain can be the beginning of treatment. In other words, pain can be the beginning of no pain.

But I have to admit that now after sitting for a long time, my low back and hips still feel sore and my feet still feel heavy. I have to be very careful about bending over, lifting things, etc. that may cause pain again. Pain is not the reason for us to lie in bed or do nothing, but to seek movement within a manageable pain range. Of course, if your low back is painful in the acute phase, I recommend taking a good rest for a few days and then seeing the doctor.

I like the words in this picture, Pain is a part of the process, not the end of it. This is how this painless journey started. Grateful that I was able to start making changes to bad habits in my life because of the pain I felt. As long as we can breathe and think, try to act now.

The key to solving pain is to find the cause of the pain and the exact pain point. I will share these in the next section.

--

--