Root— the journey of how to make my low back pain free

Section Two

SysyJourney
Extraordinary Garden
4 min readNov 18, 2022

--

I talked about pain in the last article, and I want to share about the Root of low back pain. All pain has its roots. Pain makes it easier for us to find the problem, and it is also the beginning of the pain-free journey.

We need to use x-ray, MRI to know what is really wrong with our spine.

I have to say that for low back pain, modern medical technology is still needed, that is, X-ray and MRI. An X-ray can see the overall condition of your spine. If you want to know the specific points of your lumbar disc herniation, I suggest you go to take MRI immediately.

Don't get me wrong, I am not asking you to prepare for your surgery. We just need to understand the real situation of our own body and what link is wrong. I used to spend a lot of time in treatment with no progress because I didn’t provide my MRI to the doctor, he thought that I should be fine at such a young age, and just kept using normal adjustments to relax my spine. It is unimaginable that the result does not achieve the expected effect.

When I got my diagnosis, the problem was clear at a glance. My L5-S1 disc is dedicated and mildly narrowed with a central 6mm disc protrusion displacing the dura and significantly narrowing the spinal canal. And marked narrowing of bot lateral recesses with S1 nerve root displacement. straightening lumbar spine, suspicious for paraspinal muscle spasm.

Please don’t randomly choose to have an operation just because of the pain.

Obviously, this is something serious and the doctors have advised me that I need to consider surgery. But I refuse the operation. 90% of the patients I know after the operation relapse after a few years and have more problems. Of course, if your body has been unable to walk for a long time, has urinary incontinence, and in extremely severe cases, surgery may be the only way to help you live a normal life, then you need surgery.

I refuse surgery even with the slightest hope of being cured without surgery. 90% of the patients I know after surgery relapse a few years later with more problems. When you have surgery, your body’s ability to heal itself is destroyed, and it may create new problems. After the operation, your pain may disappear soon physically, but the underlying factors that caused the pain are still there. Don’t forget that we were all healthy, to begin with.

We find out what went wrong of our spine and also but more importantly what we did to cause the pain

What causes our lumbar disc herniation? Some people may be caused by external forces, such as car accidents, collisions, etc., but most people are caused by problems in living habits.

Are you sitting and sleeping correctly? Is the bed you sleep on too soft causing low back pain? Do you often sit on the sofa or bed to do things when you go home? Do you just bend over to pick up heavy objects? Do you often look down at your phone? Do you eat sweets or a lot of food every day? Do you have an obesity problem?

Various habits in life can be the cause of our low back pain. I remember that one thing I often do during the pain period is to record which movements cause me more pain, which postures cause me no pain, whether the pain is aggravated or relieved when I wake up in the morning, and so on. During my bad low back pain, this book was called “ Back Mechanic” by Stuart McGill, It helped me a lot and I highly recommend it. It teaches a lot of ways to develop good living habits and pain detection methods, and there are also good ways to relieve pain.

Don’t stop correcting your life habits even if you don’t feel pain anymore.

Human often has no memory and tend to forget previous lessons. That’s what happened to me, I recovered well for a while, with no pain at all, and I can even exercise normally. But I soon became sedentary again. Also started lifting heavy objects with incorrect posture. As a result, the pain recurred again. Also, if you’ve had surgery, it’s still very important to correct your lifestyle even if you’re pain-free.

Constantly making our living habits healthy may be our lifetime homework. When we really do it, we will find that this will benefit us for a lifetime, and we may even be healthier than those who have never suffered from lumbar protrusion.

There is a saying that says: When you are young, you give up your health to gain wealth; when you are old, you give up all your wealth to restore your health. In fact, our own pains are all created by ourselves. A person who masters his/her own body is equivalent to mastering theirown life. If we take care of our body unremittingly, then we can completely change our life .

Let’s supervise each other, work hard to improve sitting posture, sleeping posture and eating habits, and insist on regular exercise and physical maintenance.We will all have a pain-free healthy life.

--

--