Following == Value

You cant be a leader without following

Justin McClintick
Eye Openers
Published in
2 min readJun 30, 2013

--

Remember when your parents told you to be a leader and not a follower? Given the right context they were absolutely right but following is just as important as leading if not more important.

A good friend of mine once said to me that my ratio of twitter followers to people I’m following was inadequate and that I should have more people following me. This recently became even more obvious to me that he was missing the point. I think you should be getting value from the people you follow and providing value to the people that follow you.

I currently follow 225 people and the MVP of this list (@garyvee) just recently followed me. According to my Friend’s ratio theory I just leveled up! It just so happens that Gary follows @ryanleslie who is also on the list of people I follow.

Because of this tweet I probably spent at least an hour or 2 catching up on the latest videos from his YouTube channel and jamming some of my favorite tracks. I was inspired to write this post because I follow not because I am being followed (@ reply explained).

Don’t focus on getting people to follow you. Follow people who focus on bringing value.

--

--

Justin McClintick
Eye Openers

Product, Tech Investor, Brewer of Beer, Ping Ponger, Grateful