3 Reasons Why You Should Have Great People Backing You Up

Alesha Peterson
EYTEesti
Published in
5 min readFeb 9, 2017

Have you heard of want to go fast, go alone and if you want to go far, you should have a team? Even with being an independent person, it’s true that you can’t do everything by yourself.

3 Reasons Why You Should Have Great People Backing You Up

1. You don’t have to agree with everyone, but you can learn from those great people (or even learn from their mistakes). Pick and choose like you are digging for treasure. Keep the best. Filter out the rest.

Be open to new experiences and keep an eye out for more learning opportunities rather than being closed off to your own experiences.

For example, when people give me unwanted advice, I ask myself if I would want to trade positions with them. If not, I mostly let it go in one ear and out the other.

“Smart people learn from everything and everyone, Average people from their experiences, Stupid people already have all the answers.”-Socrates

2. Find amazing partners, assistants, and managers. No one can do everything themselves. Build your team of great people.

The richest people in the world usually have a team surrounding them. Warren Buffett, Oprah Winfrey, and Bill Gates come to mind. It’s a real blessing to have a partner you have true compatibility with. They’re a prime example of what a team should be.

3. By Building Your Team, You Will Have People On The Same Wavelength And Mission As You.

It’s safe to bet that some of my friends from my school years might be looking saying damn how the f*ck did she do all that only after a year? To them it might appear easy, but I would first tell them that it’s work and I have group of people that understands my ways of thinking. I choose to surround myself with phenomenal people who are confident and secure enough to understand that there is room for all of us to make it to the finish line. After watching peers in school cut each other, I knew I was around the wrong type of people. They thought that cutting people is the way to success, and it’s not. Being catty and jealous wastes time. If you hang around enough people in my circles, they will tell you that it’s jealously weak emotion. So serious.

Long story cut short: I watched one of my college organizations do a few dirty tricks to other members. It wasn’t cool. I realized how mean people could be.

Not only did I lose respect, I cut ties. I don’t hate them, it’s just hanging around people like that could keep you from getting where you want to be. If you hang around positive and wealthy people, you will be more in likely positive and wealthy. If you hang around broke, and negative people, you will more in likely be negative and broke. It’s simple as surrounding yourself with like minded people. Not saying that one way of thinking is better than the other, but let me ask you this.

Why do you really want to build a business?

  • To make your life more exciting?
  • To have the fancy title of CEO & Founder behind your name to impress people?
  • To have more freedom?
  • To post updates on Facebook saying “OMG LOOK AT WHAT I’M DOING AND WHAT YOU ARE NOT DOING?”
  • To make more money?

If you fit any of the above descriptions, cool. I’m not hating or judging ya, trust me. There’s nothing wrong with wanting the finer things in life.

Next set of questions. Can you deal with all the elements of entrepreneurship, or are you just down for the fun-money making stuff? Can you deal with not having your friends’ and family’s validation to really live the authentic life you want? Can you deal with the:

  • Terrifying moments of business, where you worry about money coming in for the next few months if things don’t go too well?
  • Unsatisfied clients because someone on your team dropped the ball? I explain this in my article Are You In Charge Of Your Biz?
  • The thrilling moments when you actually get a sale or client?
  • The boring moments where not a lot of action is happening, where you go for months without booking a project or client?
  • The times where you have to take the road less traveled because your loved ones treat you like shit and don’t understand what you’re doing. (but surprisingly come around to help you celebrate when times are good? I hate to throw that in there but it’s so true. You mostly get support when you get results.)
  • Where you pick hanging out with your business instead of going out to get drunk with your friends?
  • Aggravating because people who don’t see your vision will keep pressuring you to be like everyone else and “get a job.” I wrote this for my musicians out there, but it applies here also.
  • Unsure, because some days are easier than others.
Photo credit goes to original owner
  • More annoying especially when you reach success and people will say “how easy it was.”
Photo credit goes to original owner
  • Liberating, when your actions match your words and all your dreams come true.
  • When expenses come in, or you need to invest in something to make your business better and you don’t have the money to do so?
  • Time-consuming (because there will be times when you put time into it and don’t receive a result right away, BUT when you realize you have the right systems in place and you reach a point where you can earn money while you sleep, you realize it’s well worth it.)
  • That feeling when it’s joyful, unpredictable, and stupid at the same time.

I could think of so many more examples, but I stopped there.

It’s ok if you really just want to experience the fun stuff involved with entrepreneurship , such as the end results of having a success, having tons of money to blow or visualizing your name on Forbes. But having a group of people that’s going through the same things that you are going through helps.

Hello! I’m Alesha, I’m on team EYTech! I’m the head of projects relating to search marketing & optimization, social media marketing, brand & content development for clients in varied industries. I’m your go to person in Indianapolis looking for a team to grow and learn with! You will also find me writing a lot of posts for EYTech too! I also eat food, write love letters to food (I’m not joking, I confess my love @aleshampeterson) act and play music! Nice to meet you!

--

--

Alesha Peterson
EYTEesti

Howdy! Entrepreneurship, fitness, music, acting, real estate, tequila & investing is sexy. Idea for an article? Input wanted! https://linktr.ee/aleshapeterson