Connecting Activism and Medicine to Improve Health- a Conversation with M1 Matthew Brown

Chase Alston
Ezi Health Platform
5 min readSep 13, 2019

Tell us about yourself.

My name is Matthew Brown and I’m originally from Mount Laurel, New Jersey. I completed my Bachelors in Public Health at the Johns Hopkins University and then received a degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. I am a current M1 at Emory University School of Medicine.

How do you see medicine and community advocacy connecting?

I think community advocacy is critical to advancing the medical field. As health care professionals, we are asked to serve anyone who comes to see us but we are specifically told to make a conscious effort to serve the underserved with the best possible care. In order to effectively do that, physicians need to advocate for the vulnerable populations they serve more. The patient-physician relationship gives physicians the privilege of understanding the needs of patient populations on a very specific level. Due to this, physicians can be very knowledgeable about what methods may be best to meet these requirements.

Where does your personal interest in community activism stem from?

I resemble a large portion of the underserved populations that [I look to] serve but I have been afforded many opportunities that others may not have been. It is important that I use this privilege to advocate for and help others who may not have had the same opportunities. As a black medical student, I don’t take lightly how many people before me helped pave the way for me to be able to attend medical school and the sacrifices they’ve made for me to be here.

Do you feel that others in the medical field feel similarly as you feel about activism?

It depends on who you talk to. I have met plenty of physicians who feel strongly about advocacy and ensuring they do their part to improve their patient’s quality of life both in the hospital setting as well as outside of it. However, I also have met physicians who will treat anyone they see but will not do advocacy work outside of seeing a patient. I think this sentiment may be changing with newer students who are matriculating into medical school.

How do you see lack of advocacy work impacting patient health?

I think lack of advocacy leads to detrimental health outcomes for patients. One of my favorite faculty members at Emory stressed that patients bring much more than their disease to the clinic. They bring life experiences and health background which influences their overall health. When physicians don’t advocate for their patients outside of their physical health, it’s a disservice to the patient. They can never become truly healthy if they don’t have the resources to maintain their health. Prevention of disease is just as, if not more important than treatment.

What role do you see physicians having in ending social stigma around topics such as mental health?

I think physicians can play a large role in ending the stigma. I don’t believe all patients realize that many physicians can serve as resources when it comes to mental health concerns. While some specialties will be better than others at this, all physicians [should be] able to discuss the effects a patient’s mental health can have on their physical health and why it is important for long term health outcomes.

Do you think physician activism is limited to patient interactions?

I think it is for some physicians but not all. I have been told about physicians who see activism as them just doing their job and calling it a day once they get off work. However, I’ve met and talked to numerous physicians who have gone above and beyond to do much more work within the communities they are a part of. Whether that’s attending community health fairs, working with local non-profit organizations, or even getting involved in the political sector, their advocacy reflects a genuine passion they have. They strive to do as much as they can to improve the lives of their patients.

Long term are there specific populations in your community that you’d like to work with?

I would like to work with populations that are predominantly black or people of color. The medical field has a history of treating these populations poorly and as a future black male physician I want to ensure that I use my skillset to improve the lives of people who look similar to me. I hope to be an example to other budding premedical students.

How do you use your platform to discuss issues surrounding individual and community mental health?

I try to talk about mental health, especially amongst minority populations, whenever the opportunity arises. Granted, I can’t treat any patient for any condition they may be experiencing since I’m only in my first year of medical school. However, I do like to emphasize to those around me that I’m always willing to listen and support them to the best of my capacity. I also find posting about topics can be helpful. I started posting positive affirmations on my Instagram story since I felt like everyone can use a little bit of positivity to start their day. I’m not expecting one quote to be the reason someone’s mental health concerns are solved. However, I have had multiple people tell me that they appreciate the quotes and that the quotes have helped them on a daily basis. I think we can all engage with discussing mental health more. How we each approach the subject will look different but breaking the ice is important in making the topic less intimidating.

What is one thing you’d tell others coming into medicine about community involvement?

Don’t forget that as a physician you are urged to serve the underserved. Remember that serving extends outside the context of the clinical setting. It’s important to remember that in order to receive proper care, a patient should not be treated just for one physical condition but as a whole. I would encourage students to use their voices outside of the classroom and clinic to help improve the quality of life for their patients.

--

--