Tiffany Onyejiaka
Ezi Health Platform
3 min readJun 5, 2019

--

Meet Michelle Kihara, a Kenyan-American who just finished her first year of medical school!

Michelle Kihara University of Minnesota School of Medicine ‘22

What was your journey to medical school like?

I think I have always known I was interested in a field where I would positively impact people’s lives. I took an interest in Public Health as an undergraduate student and initially thought I would go down that career path. I learned about health disparities in the US and around the world and thought that I could make a living out of serving underserved populations. While public health is still important, it is really difficult to see the impact of the work. I switched my focus to medicine because of the direct impact I could see in patient’s lives. I made sure to surround myself with the best mentors I could find and they were extremely helpful in giving me direction whenever I needed it — from MCAT resources to editing my personal statement, my mentors were key to my success in applying to medical school. Now as a medical student, my interests continue to evolve. Finding a mentor early in the journey is pivotal to ensuring success in any field, but especially in medicine.

What aspect from your undergrad experience helped prep you for med school the most?

I would say that being pre-med required me to be very disciplined in my studies and extracurricular activities. In medical school, we covered all of undergrad/MCAT related knowledge in the first two or three weeks of school. There is a large volume of knowledge to keep up with and it definitely requires discipline and flexibility in approaches to learning. I am thankful that my undergrad experiences taught me how to balance being a student and maintain a social life, all while being involved in activities I cared about.

What has been the biggest challenge for med school so far

The biggest challenge in medical school has been staying grounded and keeping in mind what brought me here. The first two years are filled with mastering the foundation sciences so it is easy to get stuck studying 15+ hours/day which can be exhausting. The key has been prioritizing things totally unrelated to medicine — I am able to go home every weekend or so to see family members and I try to exercise 4X/week. I live in a medical fraternity which has served as a huge resource and source of support.

What has been your biggest support during your first year of medical school?

My main support system has always been my family, friends, and mentors. There have been times when I have doubted myself or wondered how I even got to where I am. My support system is always there to remind me of how far I have come and how much more I can accomplish. Overall, staying grounded and recharging is really what has and will continue to keep me going.

What do you want fellow POC to know about?

I want fellow POC interested in medicine to be aware that there will be challenges. Surround yourself with like-minded people who you admire and who motivate you. Challenges become magnified as the journey in medicine continues. Often times, you may be the only POC in a room and people will be surprised when you introduce yourself as a medical student or a physician. These will be opportunities to lean in and own that title because you have worked hard to come thus far. Be diligent with maintaining the relationships you establish with mentors and people you look up to — you never know from where words of wisdom or opportunities will arise.

--

--