App Store Search Ads

Matt Sephton
F.A.T.E.
Published in
1 min readJun 9, 2016

Given that my role at Apple was to support iAd, their digital advertising network, I’m happy to read about it sprouting a new branch in the form of Search Ads. The ghost of iAd rides on in News and now App Store Search Ads. At the same time I’m not surprised that the beta launch is US-only. “Plus ça change”, as they say in France.

The cynic in me says that this was announced in a controlled manner by Phil Schiller and his team to avoid any potential furore at WWDC. Clever.

I’m not quite as ambivalent as John Gruber when it comes to waiting this one out. Now that I’m once again allowed to make apps, I have a vested interest in the outcome.

Search Ads and Subscription-Based Pricing for All could be a great combo to help developers help themselves, if the features work as well in practice as they do in the documentation. I have faith.

In my mind, the outcome of this news is that a large percentage of apps and games will switch to a business model based on a Free Trial (finally!) combined with Subscription Pricing. The challenge of figuring out how to do that with a good user experience starts now.

WWDC should be a good one if this is any sign of what is still to be announced. I can’t wait!

--

--

Matt Sephton
F.A.T.E.

Previously worked at Apple as a Technology Evangelist. Available to help you make better products.