Reveries

A journey through dream within a dream

Ifra Ali
F For Fiction
3 min readJun 5, 2021

--

https://www.istockphoto.com/portfolio/fcscafeine?mediatype=photography

My heart missed a beat as I heard my name echoing through the assembly room. I moved steadily towards the stage. Amidst the applauding crowd, my ears for a moment went numb, I could hear nothing but my heart, which was fluttering like a hummingbird.

My wet eyes sparkled in the spotlight as I stood on the stage, firmly folding my hands around the mic, in an overwhelmed voice, I said, “Thank you!!”

I looked around those hundred faces, giving a cheerful smile. Then I looked up, to thank the universe and through the skylight, I could see the luminous moon peeking in, and immediately tears started to roll down my cheeks.

“Universe always has their back, the ones who dare to believe in their dreams.’’

Quoting lines from my book I commenced the speech.

Anxiety departed, and the words flowed, as they had desperately waited for this moment. Even the time felt short for I had so much to say, my journey till here with all those failures, ups and downs, moments of falling and getting back up. There were so many people and things that I had to express gratitude for.

The launch event of my book was done. After having dinner with my friends and distributing the signed copies to the guests, I headed back home.

The phone that I left in my car had twenty missed calls from my mother. I immediately called her back.

In an over-excited tone, she said, “Congratulations!! Darling.”

“Thanks, Mumma.”

“I saw the LIVE telecast of your event and you looked gorgeous.”

“Mumma I can’t believe it is happening, everything feels like a dream.”

“Honey, it is a dream coming true after all.”

Before I could say another word my phone died.

The next moment I was home on my bed, everything had disappeared.

My doorbell had been ringing. It’s Jane in a hurry trying to wake me up.

She rushed inside screaming, “Anne Eliot, just tell me, who sleeps like a sloth bear on such a special day?”

“I…I was in a beautiful dream that I didn’t want to end.”

“Oh really? And what about the day you had waited all your life? Would you like to let that go and be lost in your dream world?”

“Oh… oh no!! Wait, what’s the date?”

“Forget about the date, the event will be starting in an hour. So hurry and run for your life.”

I rushed as fast as I could and managed to reach the event on time. It was all set, the stage, lights, crowd. I felt like I’m having Deja Vu. Everything was the same as I saw in my dream last night.

I could feel the blood running through my veins, while my cheeks turned scarlet to complement my Emerald gown.

I placed myself comfortably on a chair, chin resting upon my interlocked fingers, balancing on elbows. My eyes focused on the book cover that was being displayed on a widescreen with my name at the bottom.

In my ears, I could hear “Anne Eliot” echoing again and again.

Anne…

Anne…

I blinked and saw a blank sheet in front of me with a title, “Reveries” realizing it was a beautiful daydream that I was lost in.

A cycle of the same dream had been occurring to me and now it was the time to start working towards it.

Without wasting any more time I picked up the pen and began to write.

--

--