An Ode to Hanger

Sara Sami
F-ried.
Published in
1 min readSep 4, 2020

Reflections of a hangry woman

Photo by Artur Kornakov on Unsplash

Oh hanger ’tis of thee
Sweet pangs of misery
My husband, our kids and me
All have the gene that should not be

But alas it is, and lest we suffer
Food at all times ’tis the only buffer
But not any bites will do for this brood
Forlorn the fool who makes boring food

My legacy lies where East meets West
Disclaimer: I am hangry, not a terrorist
But I cannot stand a boring meal
Basic food has no appeal

I cannot sleep without a think for eats
And the eats best be simple and cheap
While we’re at it, life is too short
To not indulge before we morte

Oh, what a bittersweet world this hanger makes
Why me, why us, for goodness sake?
I’ll tell you why, my hangry friends
For we have finally reached the end

You see, life is like a bowl of spaghetti
It fills us up but it’s also quite messy
And behind each bowl, deep down inside
Is someone who’s just trying to survive

So cook, and eat; and eat, and cook
And let us all forget how mad we look.

--

--

Sara Sami
F-ried.
Editor for

Arab-American analyst, writer, and food blogger. Recovering consultant. Recently stranded overseas and taken hostage by five toddlers (not all mine).