Critical Reflection#2

This week’s reading emphasized the relationship between practice, theory, and knowledge. According to Freire, “Without practice, there is no knowledge… We have a certain of theoretical kind of practice that in order to know also… practice itself is not a theory. It creates knowledge but it is not its own theory.” Freire is addressing the fact that knowledge, theory, and practice go hand in hand. One initially needs a theory as the first step to intrigue to student enough to seek out the knowledge. It would only make sense that the only way to truly achieve knowledge on something is to practice not only because constant use would be constantly learning, but also to grow and help expand the initial knowledge one started out with.

As a member of society, it is our duty to stand by what we believe in and use our voice. In the reading, Freire and Horton discussed the dangers that lie within “neutrality,” and how it can affect society. Horton states, “It has nothing to do with anything but agreeing to what is and will always be — that’s what neutrality is. Neutrality is just being what the system asks us to be.” Horton is trying to get the point of across the damage neutrality has to give your say to the most popular opinion. I think in the past I have definitely stated I was neutral based off the criticism I would have gotten for my opinion. Even if I did not agree with the majority, I was giving them my approval by not speaking out. Luckily, within the past few years of receiving a college education, I have been able to break this habit, and am able to speak up for what I truly believe in.

Since I can recall, I have been one to always seek to help and engage with others and working with communities. Helping was second nature to me, but I never truly learned how to serve until my first service-learning course here at Dominican. In the first semester within my first few months here in Dominican I learned more about myself than I had ever known through my service at Canal Alliance. I learned a lot about not only about the injustices of society, but what my role was in making a positive change. This class will definitely help me learn how to engage and develop a relationship with my future patients on a deeper level.

--

--