CR #1: What is Service-Learning?

Service-learning engages students in learning critical components of navigating society in a different lens by allowing students to go out into the community and apply their newfound knowledge through service. In service-learning courses, we have to think critically and put into practice our thinking when we reach our service site. Last semester (Spring 2019), I was in two service-learning courses; Expository Writing and Ethics in Healthcare, where I served at Canal Alliance’s University Prep! and Ritter Center, respectively. In these courses, I learned what it meant to be an “invisible” person in society but still find direction in who is there behind the invisible curtain. I also learned what it meant to care for people, what housing issues ail Marin, and a deeper understanding of compassion and conversation. As a result of thinking deeper about critical social justice, I began to become even more socially aware of what was happening not only in the United States but more locally, ranging from Latinx immigrant families to homelessness and food insecurity.

A critic of “developing critical social justice literacy” why limit to only Canada and the US? The global south has had many perspectives that should be mentioned when discussing these theories as they have had some practice and success in establishing a more just society against the woes of imperialism.

Based on the readings, critical thinking is referred to thinking “with complexity, to go below the surface when considering an issue and explore its multiple dimensions and nuances” (Sensoy, DiAngelo; p. 23). This compels me to think more about the WHY of what we do is important and critically observe actions in the world. If we were to leave issues at the surface level, as some in power happen to do, we will never reach a root cause analysis of our society or find the solutions to improve and redefine it. Furthermore, Critical theory is described as a scholarly approach that analyzes social conditions within their historical, cultural, and ideological contexts. Mastery of this theoretical perspective requires ongoing study and practice” (Sensoy, DiAngelo; p. 23). Theory is already a difficult concept to grasp but when we have the opportunity to sit with and critique society with a set mindset of how our actions should be applied, having a grasp of how issues are being handled, more so mishandled, allows us to move in a comprehensive disposition. When at my service-learning site, I believe I apply these concepts during and after the experience as I document and reflect on the inequity and previous bias I held because of the individualistic views I learned throughout earlier education.

“Critical theory analysis of how society works continues to expand and deepen as theorists from indigenous, postcolonial, racialized, and other marginalized perspectives and layers to our collective understanding” (Sensoy, DiAngelo; p. 27).

I appreciate this approach of learning and assessing knowledge because the “goal of education is to expand one’s knowledge base and critical thinking skills, rather than protect our preexisting opinions.” This semester I look forward to continually challenge previous beliefs and strive to carry out equity in my work and service.

This semester I am serving with Canal Alliance’s ESL program for those who strive to succeed in learning English primarily to immigrants and young adults. Having previously worked with Canal Alliance before, I am a fan of their mission and work so far as a grassroots organization who prioritize caring about their students and want them to excel in higher education, starting with middle school programs to Census advocacy. I hope to explore more Latinx interactions and know the community better with people closer to my age and different experiences, both from their homeland to Marin. My parents are immigrants, they came at age 14 with no experience with English. English was not my first language, but I translated for my parents when they couldn’t understand some phrases, and I still speak Spanish more at home, even though periodically I lose a bit of fluency when I’m at school. I hope to broaden my views and understanding with new lived experiences unraveling when I interact with the ESL students.

Service-learning has ignited a passion for caring, in more than just what is expected of us as humans, but living with compassion, understanding, and humility in our everyday interactions that I hope inspires others to do the same.

Sensoy, Ozlem, and Robin DiAngelo. Is Everyone Really Equal: An Intro to Key Concepts in Social Justice Education, 2nd Edition. New York and London: Teachers College Press, 2017.

--

--

Analise I Mendez
F19 Theory & Practice: Community Action & Social Change

DUoC '23, Global Public Health major and Community Action and Social Change minor.