From Legos to Rocket Launches: Collin Anderson Discusses his Aerospace Career at the FAA

The safety inspector in the FAA’s Commercial Space Transportation Division answers questions about this fascinating new career and how he got involved in aerospace engineering.

Federal Aviation Administration
Cleared for Takeoff
3 min readFeb 19, 2021

--

For the in-depth interview with Aerospace Engineer Collin Anderson, check out The Air Up There podcast episode, “Ticket to Space,” airing this Friday.

What do you do for the FAA as an aerospace engineer and safety inspector?

As a Commercial Space Transportation (AST) safety inspector, my job is to ensure public health and safety through the review and monitoring of FAA-licensed and permitted commercial space transportation activities. These activities include launch and reentry of expendable/reusable vehicles and operation of launch/reentry site operators.

Anderson with NASA’s Vehicle Assembly Building at Kennedy Space Center. (Photo provided by Collin Anderson)

How did you get into this position? What is your background?

I came into this position straight out of college when my school’s American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics chapter sent an email to members saying that AST was looking for new graduates. During school, I interned for two summers with NASA Goddard Space Flight Center as a propellant transfer engineer intern in the Satellite Servicing Projects Division, or what is now NASA’s Exploration & In-space Services.

What inspired you to become an engineer in the space sector?

I’ve known I wanted to be an engineer since I was about 10. Naturally, I loved Legos and always wanted to figure out how things worked the way they did.

When I saw the Space Shuttle program end, I knew I wanted to do my part to ensure Americans would go back to space from American soil.

Not only this, but airplanes can only go so far. Space is the vast unknown that I would like, in any small way, to help pioneer.

What do you love most about your line of work?

I love being right on the frontlines of the commercial space boom. I like to equate it to working in the commercial aviation sector in the 1920s and 30s — right when commercial aviation was in its infancy. I do not think it’s far-fetched to think we could see space travel become similar to that of air travel within the next two decades.

Anderson with the Mercury-Redstone launch vehicle at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station Launch Complex 5 — where Alan Shepard launched from to become the first American in space. (Photo provided by Collin Anderson)

What would you like people to know about you?

I graduated in December 2018 from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, with a bachelor’s degree in aerospace engineering and a concentration in astronautics.

What are your hobbies and interests outside of work?

I love to cook! My specialty is smoking ribs, brisket, pork shoulder, etc. on my smoker. I also love to SCUBA dive and go shooting with my friends.

--

--

Federal Aviation Administration
Cleared for Takeoff

Welcome to the official Medium account of the FAA. Following, mention or comment does not mean endorsement. Have a question, we’ll answer it!