From Ballerina to Air Force Base

FAA Federal Air Surgeon Dr. Susan Northrup reflects on her introduction to aviation and the mentors who inspired her along the way.

Federal Aviation Administration
Cleared for Takeoff
5 min readMar 24, 2022

--

FAA Federal Air Surgeon, Dr. Susan E. Northrup M.D

Where did you work before joining the FAA, and how did you develop an interest in aviation and/or working at the agency?

Growing up in the Dayton, Ohio area, I was surrounded by aviation from a very early age. From my bedroom window, I could see the end of the runway at Wright Patterson Air Force Base. I used to play on Huffman Prairie. But, I didn’t start out wanting to be a doctor or have a career in aviation. I was a ballerina — right up until I injured a knee. My second choice was medicine from a preventive slant. How could I keep athletes healthy? After receiving a Pre-Health Professions Scholarship from the U.S. Air Force ROTC program, I discovered aerospace medicine and fell in love with the career field. I could work with aircrew members and their families to keep them healthy, and I got to fly in USAF aircraft as a crew member.

Along the way, I spent 24 years in the USAF Active Duty and Reserves. For several years, I was the Regional Medical Director for Aircrew and Passenger Health Services for a major air carrier. I’ve worked for one of the air carrier unions as a consultant. I’ve been with the FAA for nearly 15 years — almost 14 as the Southern Regional Flight Surgeon, and now as the Federal Air Surgeon.

Dr. Susan Northrup

What assignments were the most challenging, and what did you learn from them?

Being the Chief of Operational Medicine for the USAF was interesting and entailed everything from what nutritional and herbal supplements were acceptable for service members to international standardization for aeromedical systems at NATO. I learned how to deal with many diverse groups domestically and internationally to gain consensus and interoperability.

Managing through the COVID pandemic, first as the Senior Regional Flight Surgeon, then as the Federal Air Surgeon was also very challenging. Turning the operational arm of the Office of Aerospace Medicine into a robust public health function as the understanding of COVID changed and developed took incredible effort and flexibility. It was necessary to keep the national airspace and air traffic facilities open and safe. I learned just how dedicated and professional our FAA family is. This is an amazing team and I have the honor to lead and work with an outstanding group who never lost sight of our safety mission.

Watch Dr. Northrup in the Pilot Minute is a monthly microlearning series that offers practical and relevant information for the aviation community. Watch on YouTube.

Tell us about your perspective on the progress of diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility in the federal workforce?

Since I reported to Moody AFB in 1990 as the first woman in a flight suit assigned there ever, I have seen great strides in diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility.

Are we fully realized in those arenas? No, we still have work to do.

I think it is time to “double down” on our STEM and outreach programs. If we are to have a fully diverse, equitable, inclusive, and accessible workforce, we have to make sure EVERYONE that wants to be a federal employee has the skills and knowledge necessary to be successful.

To quote one of my staff members, “if a young person can’t see it, they can’t be it.” If we are to replace ourselves someday, we need to let people know aviation and the federal workforce is a vibrant place to work and aspire to. To ensure we maintain our just and safety cultures, we need a team with many different perspectives where everyone is valued and empowered.

What would you do differently if you could go back in your career and change something?

Oddly enough, I wouldn’t change a thing. Even the unpleasant stuff. I feel that so long as I learned something from each event in my life, the incident had value. Besides, what might I have missed if I changed history?

How do you feel that your positions are paving the way for the future generation of women in aviation?

Being a woman in what previously had been a male dominated field, I have been the first woman to hold several positions. But I had women who mentored me too. We all quietly went about proving that we could do jobs x, y or z. One of my dearest friends, Dr. Pat Nell, was the first female flight surgeon in the armed forces. Dr. Penny Giovanetti (now also in the FAA Office of Aerospace Medicine) fought for me to go with my squadron to Desert Storm when the deployed commander didn’t want another woman in a position of authority on his base (like a Captain Flight Surgeon has a lot). I hope I can be as good a mentor and an example.

Back to the comment — if they can’t see it, they can’t be it. I believe by being professional, competent, and knowledgeable in each position, it helps to change the narrative on what women can do in the future. Then, I try to use my positions to educate those who will follow.

Today, most medical school classes are at about half women. When I speak to Aerospace Medicine Resident groups, there are more ladies in each class than when I went through. And, they are more diverse.

What advice would you give to young women who are interested in this field?

Study hard. Spend time with someone doing the job you are interested in. Most of us are open to mentoring and shadowing. As one of my mentors told me, think two assignments ahead. Plan with the end in mind, but don’t forget to grow where you are. It is hard to get where you want to go without doing well in your current situation. Don’t stop striving for something just because it has never been done by someone like you before. Be an agent of change.

Finally, give back to your community and those who may follow you.

--

--

Federal Aviation Administration
Cleared for Takeoff

Welcome to the official Medium account of the FAA. Following, mention or comment does not mean endorsement. Have a question, we’ll answer it!